The Tradition of Kadazan Ethnic - Introduction

in #education6 years ago (edited)

I'm very lucky to found the book of Adat Istiadat Suku Kaum Kadazan, District of Papar. This book is about the tradition of kadazan ethnic written by Mr. Joseph Gunson in 1987. Actually in early 90's, my father used it as his references when he is the head of my village so called Ketua Kampung. This book also been using by Mahkamah Anak Negeri Sabah as their references.

IMG_20180117_133927.jpg

Basically it's about the punishments and penalties imposed followed the kadazan tradition where it's commonly used by our ancestors and have been adopted from generation to generation. Today I will brief the introduction of the penalties so called SOGIT generally.

There's 7 types of Sogit.

No. 1 - Sogit babas.
Sogit babas actually to pacify fights or quarrels that involve touch. By completing Babas, there should no revenge happen in the future.

No. 2 - Sogit Malu
Situation where guy distracting or teasing girl, widow or someone's wife. So guys please behave yourself, otherwise kena sogit..hahaha

No. 3 - Sogit Berzina (Adultery)
Situation where $#& is not between husband and wife . For example, A is the husband's of B, and B commit adultery with C. Therefore, the wife (B) have to pay sogit to his husband. If nowadays, I think their partner already kena divorce right? What say you?

No. 4 - Sogit Kinahosuan Sumbang Muhrim / Incest
Situation where someone having sex with their close family.

No. 5 - Sogit Kinohosuan
Situation where the couple commit adultery until the girl got pregnant.

No. 6 - Sogit Lapau
Situation where the husband or wife having affair with someone else. I think this one becomes common, I've read this situation multiple times in KRTB.

No. 7 - Sogit Kotiggagan
Situation where the girl's parents shocked when they know their daughter run away and married without their knowledge.

Well, now you know more or less about sogit. I will try my best to translate it and share with you all in my next entry and yeah it's exclusively only in steemit.

Although some of this tradition is no longer applicable in this modern era, we should preserved it for our next generation.

If you like my writing, don't forget to add me in your list.😉

#ProudtobeKadazan
#SharingisCaring
#Stilllearning

Sort:  

thank you for the info!

Yeah..I will improve my writing for my next entry so that we can share more info.

I like your post @ivora about our tradition. Can’t wait for your next entry. I’m proud to be Kadazan! ❤️

Thanks for your support. 🤗

It's a good info especially for the new generation... keep it up!

Will do so.

HI! THanks for sharing these info. Interesting to know the roots and history. EVeyone can learn. Keep it up!

Welcome. Sharing is caring bh kan..

Our ancestor in the past already knew that incest not only despicable but also cause hereditary disease to flourish.
When law prohibited such activities, the community in that one place become more healthy

Thank you for sharing @ivora

Welcome doc. Thank you for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52