Learning and Earning week 5steemCreated with Sketch.

in #education6 years ago (edited)

My fifth week of @matkodurko's What did I learn yesterday? challenge, based on an idea by Tim Ferriss ('Tools of Titans' book).
Learn & Earn Week 10

  • Mon 21 - I received an email on Friday from a company I'd applied to that said I needed to fill in an application form, rather than send in a CV. My reading of the instructions had been the opposite of that, but okay, I want the job. So I downloaded the form and it was a Word.docx. It was abysmal! Font changes, floating lines to make boxes, a grid that was locked so you couldn't fill it in... Aaargh!
    I gave up, and had another go on Monday, whereupon I noticed the email had a PDF version of the form which was a) slightly different and b) much easier to fill in. Then, I discovered that there was no way on the job web site to update my application! There was no 'Help' option either; just a button to withdraw the application. I decided to withdraw and start again. Now I can't apply again because I've already applied, even though I've withdrawn! Aaaaaargh! again.
    I'm not sure that this counts as learning anything, but I will create a new account and try again. Its an awesome job, and I probably won't get an interview. But at least I'm not asking for a commission to draw Casper cartoons.
  • Wed 23 - Went to the I am Ashurbanipal exhibition at the British Museum. Covering the period 685 B.C.E. to 612 B.C.E. it had some fascinating displays I'll write up soon. It was also an excellent lesson in new ways to present historic artefacts, by projecting onto them the colour schemes they're thought to have had 2,700 years ago and other guides to understanding.
  • Thu 24 - Pledge Music - the crowd funding site is in serious trouble as it doesn't have the money to pay off all the campaigns. Since a management change in 2016 they've been ridden steadily into the dirt. I knew my friends' daughter's band Atorc hadn't been paid, but I learned from the Bob Lefsetz letter that this was an international issue. It's just that every act involved thought it was only them. Pledge Music have now had to make the issue public, but there's still no money.
  • Fri 25 - How do I make myself a Limited company? Seems fairly straightforward: hire an accountant to do it. The HMRC website is a maze of gibberish.
  • Sat 26 - Learned nothing due to very bad hangover (I certainly haven't learned not to drink that much again)
  • Sun 27 - 5% of UK adults don't think the holocaust happened. This is a worrying statistic in a country that is sliding towards an isolationist stance.
Sort:  

Not sure if the company sounds like somehting where you want to work man :D Saturday's funny hhhahah and Sunday's scary!

Can't wait for the museum report! I was in British Museum 2 years ago and it was aaabsolutely amazing! Spent 3+ hours in there on my own :)

Resteemed!

Got the rejection today :) At least they were quick...

Thanks for the resteem Matko!

British Museum is cool. I learned a lot there when I first moved to Britain. It helped me understand so much. That exhibition sounds fascinating. I'm looking forward to your write-up.

Why does it not surprise me that the HMRC website is a mess? This, in a country that can produce adults capable of Eden Project literature full of grammatical errors! (I hope it's improved since I was there - years ago now.)

Oh dear about Saturday... That's how I feel when I eat something with soy in it... Saying that, I've never actually had a hangover, but I think that's how I feel, lol.

Sunday is scary.

Ah, yes. The Eden Project. I don't remember the signs but I do remember getting very, very drunk waiting for Motörhead to come on stage. Not one of my finer moments...

hahaha

I was actually more impressed with Kew than with the Eden Project. But the Lost Gardens of Heligan - that is rather fine - and so near the Eden Project!

Congratulations @hockney! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49