You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Education: Anglicisms in Spanish Language and Culture (Part I)

in #education5 years ago

You have pointed at a very important issue. I think that it is undeniable that we are having a serious decline in the, how can we put it, linguistic proficiency in our young generation. That poses a future problem and a dilemma. I can see there are reasons to worry if on top of a low proficiency in the mother tongue, speakers are going to incorporate common/populat expressions from other languages. What would happen with the standard language, and by extension to literary language?
I think that our educational systems must be better equipped to provide the best and demand the best from our kids so that the incorporation of foreign words does not represent any cause for alarm.
I do worry that most kids these days (and I can only speak about my inmediate reality) can't speak well or read and comprehend standard spanish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44