You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - Columbia River

in #education6 years ago

Man this introduction to the Columbia river is so epic............ everything from its origin and geological history to its cultural impact has been mentioned. This was by no means a small post (at least 1500 words I think) but to cover so many things in just these amount of words is actually quite a feat. My congratulations to the author for that.

In the post the geological history of the formation of river and obviously the land was the most fascinating part for me. It was like walking through history and that was really a pleasure for me. The formation of the land mass and the appraoch of the ice age. Combined with tectonic pressure and movement ice - they all literally changes the face of the earth which included creation of ravines and canyons and other geological structures. Perhaps I am overly impressed because of my interest in Geography but there is no denying the grandness in the actions of nature.

The acts of nature are grand and unique but the geological history of anything in this world spans far beyond the human history and makes you realize that we are just specks in the bigger scheme of things.

Sort:  

I grew up in the area, in fact our particular area is known as the channeled scab lands. It is home, and so natural to me in so many ways. This post, in particular, was a labor of love. Not just love of providing information but showing off where I grew up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63