You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - 21st Century Democracy

in #education6 years ago

The most universal definition of Democracy by Lincoln "Government of the people, by the people, for the people" now only remain as a theoretical concept. Perhaps a concept of myth or even abstraction. One might think that I am being extreme but lest analyze the situation.

Democracy nowadays is about minimal choice. Which means that out of ten possible candidates you will probably like none of them and in the end you'll vote for the one that you dislike the least. If this is not a perversion of an originally benign concept then I don't know what it is.

Sort:  

Uh, yeah. I will tell you for an absolute fact that the last presidential candidate that I voted FOR was Ronald Reagan. Every single vote since then has been for the candidate I think will do the least damage.

Wow that's a long time to go without voting. I am not the one to say that you should vote or not because we all recognize the fact the voting these days is a mere illusion of choices ranging from bad to worse.

Sorry. I said that poorly. Ronnie was the last candidate that I liked. Every election since then I voted for the candidate that I thought would do the least damage. Not that I liked them.

I have only missed two local referendum votes since 1970 when I became eligible to vote. I take it as a right and a responsibility.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51