You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What If Students Controlled Their Own Learning?

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Interesting, what I just read is to another extreme as oppose to what we have in Hong Kong. This sound even more free than our university students. They have choices to what subjects (within certain defined curriculum), but what's inside those subjects are still defined by the lecturers/professors.
TC sounds to me more like an business school for teenagers than a high school.
It sure will fits certain group of kids but is also "poison" to the others. I wonder if there is a mechanism to screen applications so that only students that fit are admitted.
Anyway, like to see how the graduates do after say 10years.

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for your comment. I think "poison" is a bit too strong of a description, although I can understand where you're coming. For some cultures, this type of approach is tough to understand.

At their school, there is also a track for those who want a more traditional education. What they do well is allow the student and parents to decide what they focus on, which is what I like most about the school.

At this stage, I'm happy for my kids to experiment and allow their interests to determine their path of study. We'll monitor closely and see what emerges. If they develop a love for learning and are equipped to add value in the marketplace, I will be happy.

But you're right. The proof will be in what they're doing a decade from now. I suspect success or failure will have more to do with parent involvement and what was modeled for them in the home, than anything else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41