Why should a student fail because of low grades?

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Image source

One of the most difficult things to do in life, are the things that we are not interested in.  Honestly if someone asked me to write a post now about gardening, it will take me hours.  I am just not interested in gardening.  Ultimately I might be able to write a post after extensive research because I would want to prove myself, but in real life the only plant that survives under my care is my little plastic plant next to my bed. 

Fact is that we are just NOT interested in the same things.  We are all unique in our own way and we all have our own interests and points of view.  Just as I can't force you to see things the same way that I do, so can you not force me to see things your way.  

I have been a teacher for many years now, and one thing that has always baffled me is the fact that students are forced to do certain things in school, whether they are interested or not.  If I do not succeed at something then I feel demotivated and negative. 

In school I have seen so many negative students because they just can't succeed at certain things in school.  Not everyone is good at everything.  Certain students are not good at Math, and they keep on failing and failing because they just can't do it.  Is it fair to judge someone on something that he just can't do?

I know that there are students that are just not studying, or doing their homework or just not showing the slightest interest in the work, but perhaps they are JUST NOT INTERESTED?

I have had one student who rewrote his GED Math examination now three times in a row, and he keeps on failing. This means that he will NOT get his GED certificate because he can't pass.  He did excellently in all of his other subjects but Math is a real issue for him.  Now what?

I have helped many students in my  lifetime to pass a grade that they did not deserve according to the departmental prescriptions....simply because I could see that the student did his/her best and still did not succeed.  Who am I to tell someone that he is a failure?

In today's life is it really so important to know direction?  I absolutely hate Geography and if I get lost I would probably be lost forever...but we have google maps now, so do I need to know North from South?  Hmmm nope, I will find my way back via satellite.  

I see too often that students do not know important skills in Math, like multiplication tables.  Do you do all your calculations out of your head?  Nope, did not think so... calculators are cheap these days.

Life is changing and everything around us is constantly changing.  We live in the age of technology.  Most students  never use some of the skills that they learn in schools.  

Is it not time that we test students on what they know instead on what they don't know? 

If you enjoy my content please follow me

 

Sort:  

Interesting blog and, sadly, so very true. I can definitely relate to all these poor souls from having received this type of education when scholarized in the French education system. Luckily, there are more and more schools opening worldwide which focus on different approaches to educating children. Montessori, Freinet, Steiner...to name a few; where each child's learning journey is followed individually and testing is of little importance.

Hi @osm0sis thank you for you comment. Certainly there are so many new upcoming schools. Sadly here in South Africa the costs involved are so high that very few people can afford these schools. We have plenty of cottage schools these days and I think this is a very good thing. People started to realize that the normal education system is somewhat useless, and that you need a proper education to get somewhere in life. If you have your school leaving certificate here, then there is also nowhere to go. No jobs. We live in a sad world.

If I have a choice, grade would go out the door right away. Lets focus more on GROWTH than grade.

Gee, where I am from, the situation you describe with your student would have been rectified by placing him/her in a lower level, or even a remedial level math class. He'd master the basics without becoming completely reliant on technology, which is a major plus considering that doing basic math without needing a calculator required in daily life and also higher education should he choose to continue his studies. When a student has trouble with a subject, or lacks interest in it, part of the problem is how it is being taught. If the teacher lacks enthusiasm, the students will get bored. If the teacher can't present it in an interesting fashion, the students will find it dull. I had a wonderful ancient Greek teacher who loved the subject and choose good material to work with. I also had one who saw ancient Greek as some sort of intellectual exercise one does to prove their mental superiority. It isn't hard to guess in which class the students really excelled.

I know what you mean my youngest son do not like maths and is therefore not interested enough to learn he is very negative about it, so his marks show it and it brings down his other marks. I wish he can drop it but he needs it. It affects the way he thinks about himself as well.

Hi @stardust this is so true. I honestly don't know what we are going to do in this country...education is so going down the drain. Why do you not write for steemiteducation? You should.

Basically we need to make the government think this way, so they will reconsider about the education system

Here in South Africa where I live our government can't even count properly. There is no way to change their minds with anything...lol!

Most students never use some of the skills that they learn in schools.

And most students will use skills that will be never taught at schools. This works both ways :)

I honestly regret what I wrote here, ha ha...I saw your face in front of me after I posted:)

I agree fully with you, find out what they can do and carry on from there.

I think school should focus on teaching kids the basics, like how to read and write, etc. And also a basic understanding of how things work, to give them a good base of knowledge to build on. But after that, they should be encouraged to find and pursue the things that interest them. They'll learn so much more!

I agree with this post!!! And in California they have a required exit exam from high school - if the kids don't pass the first time, they make them stay after school and take a class where they actually give you the answers to the test so you are guaranteed to pass if you memorize the answers - what is the point. These kids obviously had no interest in graduating but were forced to pass a test that had no meaning to them at all. I honestly believe that the school would not know what to do with the students who do not pass :) Great post!!! Got me thinking on this one .. sorry I rambled, thinking out loud .. SUNSHINE247

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42