You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEW YORK PREFERS DIVERSITY OVER LITERACY SKILLS

in #education7 years ago

I'm in the NY area and I am not familiar with this issue as it relates to NYC, but I have a problem with the source...the Daily Caller is Tucker Carlson's of fox news, and frankly, he's not one I would attribute one iota of credibility to.

Sort:  

This article is race based but the topic is not. The author is assuming the fluent English speaking teachers are the victims of a multicultural political correctness agenda and that students will be deprived a proper education as the result of loosening up regulations for teachers to gain employment.

Let's be clear immediately, finding an African American person in New York who actually wants to be a teacher but can't pass a basic literacy test would be like finding a unicorn. So this issue is not about the black community. This issue applies to New York City which means it most specifically applies to immigrants who have high levels of technical education and lower English proficiency levels. The only fluent English speakers losing teaching jobs to these individuals are those with low levels of technical proficiency. These individual in New York of of all complexions.

Case in point. This guy is a genius and I would be honored to be a student in his class, but there is no way in hell, he is passing that literacy test.

Yeah, I just heard this on the radio, but looked it up online. A lot of info was there about it, and I just grabbed two of the sources to quote. You can look it up too. Tell me if you find out differently.

Definitely the optics aren't good based on the headlines. But here's an analysis that is more balanced:
http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/2183609-New-York-removes-test-for-screening-teachers-because-blacks-hispanics-can-t-pass-it
Minority teachers didn't do well, but neither did the white teachers. But it was just one test of a battery of assessments.
In the end, good or bad, I don't know since I am not in the teaching business, but I think a lot of news outlets like to put out the inflammatory headlines ;-)

They sure do, and they skew it however they want to. I'm just tired of them always trying to divide and make things a "race" issue. Thanks @gardenlady!

Also, for a "more balanced" article, the title seems to be about the same as the others... oh, the media!

I know. I guess it goes to show how headlines grab attention. SO often there is way more to any given subject in the body of an article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61