Why 'Unlearning' is the most important EDUCATION for me.

in #education7 years ago (edited)

This past 5 years I have dedicated myself on this spiritual journey to unlearn everything I know since I was a child.

Where did I get this phrase 'unlearn' from? Can't really remember where exactly but I'm sure I got it from a spiritual book that said something like this ; "the most important thing on a spiritual journey is to unlearn".

So ever since that, I began a quest to unlearn what I know or once knew.

So what is 'unlearning' exactly?

To me,
Unlearning is reflecting back on everything you have learnt in the past by your parents, teachers, the media and all modes of information that comes in through our 5 senses.

It is to let go old ways and inserting new perceptions and paradigms about everything in life.

It is questioning everything you once knew and to accept new opposing ideas and beliefs.

One of the most important aspects of unlearning is to lower your ego and to increase your humility. Why?

Because you will be confronted with contradicting facts and ideas of what you know and what you once knew.
And that confrontation could make you feel like what you knew all along was a LIE, and this will cause your ego to feel threatened.

It can be a scary yet exciting process for anyone to go through IF they are ready to handle the TRUTH!

download.jpg

However, when you feel these emotions, it is a good sign that you are on the path to unlearning.

It is a liberating and enlightening experience for those who are ready to go on this lovely and beautiful journey.

Unlearning is like cleaning the inside of a dirty bottle before filling it with clean water. There would be no use to fill it with clean water if the bottle itself is dirty.

And here is a lovely quote to end all of this nicely.

“The most useful piece of learning for the uses of life is to unlearn what is untrue.” - Antisthenes

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Thank you very much. Appreciate it <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51