Dave's Astro lessons for kids in Turkey

in #education7 years ago

After several pauses and false starts, next month should mark the return of Astronomy lessons for Syrian Refugees in Ankara.

What I plan on doing is organizing several astronomy tips as so these kids can discover an interest in Astronomy and hopefully other sciences too. My goal is not to preach but to open minds to new ideas!

My hope is to expand these activities as to include impoverished Turkish kids to join in on these events with the refugees. As an outsider, and something I learned from the forces, I've noticed tension between locals and refugees, this is partly fueled by foreign groups solely focusing on the refugees whilst ignoring poor kids in Turkey. Some see this as the refugees taking away from the poor local kids. Rightly or wrongly, I understand how people can believe this.

Depending on resources, I hope to run these events for up to 100 kids which would be a mix between refugees and locals. I am not a charity and lack any support from the UK, any money I get from SteemIt will go towards these projects. I plan on launching a GoFundMe next week to provide help to some specific outreach projects in Turkey.

The following pictures are from a previous Astronomy outreach event for Syrian refugees in Ankara.

Refugee Ankara Observatory trip.jpg
Eyes on the universe.

Refugee kids Ankara Astronomy Lesson.jpg
Lesson on the topic of the planets within our Solar System.

Ankara Observatory field trip for refugees.jpg
A wander through the Observatory.

On a final point. This year I plan on writing once a month about the projects that I am running in the Middle East. Hopefully more than once a month. I'm very keen to hear your feedback in the comments below.

Sort:  

mate, with such a good story to tell, you could seriously make it pay here. Try and find the time to bang a post a day out and try and encourage some whale support. You could make a lot of money here for your work. What about videos on dtube, that can pay very well for good content...

Thanks mate. I'll try and post more frequently here and come next month, I plan on uploading a few videos from some of the projects in Turkey. Which I wouldn't have done without your suggestion. :D.

excellent. this platform needs real human interest stories instead of the endless crypto articles. Will really look forward to seeing them. If you catch @dtubes eye , one upvote is worth a hundred quid, so well worth a shot to make some funds. Good luck :-)

Appreciate the work you're doing - hope my vote helps. Keep it up - love one another.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82