You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I remember the phone number of my EX and I'm PROUD of it! ** digital dementia **

in #education6 years ago

Starting at the beginning of this year I started to do research in increasing neuroplasticity and memory. My goal was to increase my ability to adapt to learn things and also improve short term memory retention.
Almost if it was through lifestyle changes like eating and sleeping habits but also tested out different cognitive enhancing supplements.
I used to only be able to memorize and recite 4-6 digits in a row. Now 8 months later I can memorize and recite 16-20 digits, part of it was practice and repetition the other part increased memory span.
The test is done by showing u 4-20 digit numbers, you memorize in your head, the number disappears and you are left to recite the each digit of the number in order.
I still memorize the numbers in blocks 4, so when there’s a 20 digit number I just try to memorize them as 5 separate blocks of 4 digits.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Cool stuff! Do you use some kind of associations for those number combinations? I remember during my speed reading course we were supposed to memorize as many words as possible on the list and I scored like 3x more than the others cuz I made a story out of them. Do u use similar techniques or not at all?

I know exactly what you’re talking about! The type of association I use is like association/relation between the numbers. Sometime hard to explain in words but I look at group of numbers and find relation between them, 5723, 5 is starting digit 7 is 2 more than 5 and next digit after 7 just happens to be 2 so I link those 3 digits together and add the 3 at the end. I’ve always used association long before trying to increase memory this year. After a while, series of numbers become easy to memorize the same way it is to remember numbers like 69, 420, or even 90210. It’s like my phone number 4205723, the 420 is easy to remember already and is like a freebie, so I just find association between the last part the 5723.
I don’t think I’ve every explained this in words, always just thought about it in my head.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha u got me laughing good on 69, 420, or even 90210 :D

And with 5723 I'd go with remembering 5 and then 7-2=5 and 2+3 equals 5 :D But I get your point..interesting...Best of luck on ur memory mission!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67