How to decide where to go? or Practice makes Perfect

in #education8 years ago

Hi, Steemit!

Next year I will graduate from the university. And it's time to decide where to go.

Practice makes perfect. But I know, what is lack of practice.

I wish to continue my education, but not in theory. Yet, we study a lot of theory, but don't know how to apply it. I guess, it is an obligation of the university to show us, how to use knowledge practically, but, unfortunatelly, in my country, higher education is very old-fashioned and immobile. 

Teachers give us outdated imformation, books are of USSR times, and we have no real practice.

Just for you to understand the situation is a little exmaple: in the course of computer technologies we have learned how to create e-mail and use ICQ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and skype!!!!!!!!!! WTF?!!!!!!!!!! I asked myself, what am I doing here?!

In European and USA universities there are labs, and investigations are made there. In our country they even don't exist.

The only way to learn smth useful is to do it in another place: whether Internet or meet-ups, conferences, hacatones, job.

I have regreted a lot, that didn't leave to another uni, not in Belarus, but hope to correct this mistake next year in master programm.

So I wanted to ask you, Steemers, maybe you could tell me about the way you get practice during studying? How to find people, from whom you could learn? Maybe you know any programms, or unis, where such people lecture?

I would be very much obliged to you!

Sort:  

Whenever I talk about my university years, I say that I spent too much time learning to go to lectures.

Now, you have new opportunities to learn. Approach people online that you would like to talk to, find tutorials and videos, try different things.

What do you specifically want to learn?

I want to learn in the spehere of investment , and business .
Yes, sure , online education can give a lot, but I am looking for smth in offline mostly.

Hopefully, one day soon, this will be the place to get an education. We can develop a website with tailored functionality to sit on the Steem blockchain and arrange high quality educational material into syllabuses for all ages or interests. Everyone on the planet could have access to this material for very low cost and it can be built upon until there is no need for anything else. Every type of media can be utilized and all manner of discussion groups, forums, researcher led groups, meetups, examinations etc can be arranged through this eductation portal to Steem.

For now though, follow your passions. Read as much as possible. Learn from those with a good reputation. Develop relevant skills and put them to work :)

Hope, you will succeed in creating such a platform)

Read books and blogs, listen to podcasts, watch lectures from Youtube, etc. Universities are overrated all over the world.

If you want to be really good at something, read books about mastery and learning new skills. For example:

  • Anders Ericsson – Peak: Secrets from the New Science of Expertise
  • Timothy Ferriss – The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life
  • Cal Newport – Deep Work: Rules for Focused Success in a Distracted World
  • Cal Newport – So Good They Can't Ignore You: Why Skills Trump Passion in the Quest for Work You Love
  • Michael Ellsberg – The Education of Millionaires: Everything You Won't Learn in College About How to Be Successful
  • Josh Kaufman – The First 20 Hours: How to Learn Anything ... Fast
  • Robert Greene – Mastery

Thank you for a list)

Upvoted you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59112.75
ETH 2519.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47