Excerpt: The Afterlife

in #education7 years ago

Tonight I met him, the answer to my prayers and yet, also the benign of my existence. Tonight, at the dance, my life changed forever.

I can remember the laughing and merriment of the ball like it was only yesterday, the girls standing and gossiping in a corner while lovers danced seductively on the dance floor, their bodies moving gracefully in time with the music. Up in on the platform the Queen was smiling through her tears staring at what I assume was the door behind me, as if her daughter, Seraphina would just waltz into the ballroom, and run into her arms like she never left. I almost felt sorry for her, but everyone believed Seraphina was still alive out there somewhere but if she were, she would have come back home by now. I could relate to what she was feeling. Having someone leave you in a place you weren't meant for felt terrible, but it had to be worse to have someone leave you in a place where everywhere you look, you see the memories that led you to that moment. The memories you can never forget, no matter how much you want to.

I walked up to the golden pillar, and looked longingly at the plain girl I saw in the reflection. I wore a white, belle styled gown, that hugged my hips in all the right places the sleeves were sheer and hung over my shoulders like a loosened rope on a curtain. My hands were covered with black gloves that trailed up my elbows, and covered my delicate fingers. On top of the black satin lay a diamond ring on my left index finger. In the faerie world it signified my ability to be wedded, but also exposed my lack of a husband. My hair hung down about my waistline in curly brown tendrils, complete with a sapphire encrusted tiara. Of course, my ruby necklace hung in the middle of my chest that was only halfway covered in the deep v-neck gown I had been wearing. I've worn that necklace ever since my supposed parents left me in that dark forest. That day was apparently, the miracle my parents had been waiting for. They needed an heir to the Enchantress title and I was to be the one to fulfill that role, whether or not I wanted to.

I remember dancing with Gabriel, the boy my mother picked out as an eligible suitor for me, even though I was already in love with another. I guess my feelings didn't matter to her; it's not like they ever have in the past so I don't know why I expect to see any differently today. At least he was handsome. He had dark chocolate brown hair and wore a deep velvet tunic and long breeches and a smile that could light up any girl's heart. I even allowed myself to flirt incessantly with him even though I knew he was a lost cause in the shadow of Peter, my huntsman. Whom I haven't seen in well over five years, he disappeared when my mother told his father he wasn't allowed to see me anymore for both of our good. This was the first time I could imagine myself with someone else and this dance, was like a dream but I hadn't yet decided whether it was good or bad.

The sound of the orchestra surrounded me but it never quite reached me. Dancing with him was like falling down a deep dark hole, you don't know where you're going or how you got there but you know you'll never be able to get out. Yet somehow you're not scared but instead a whole different array of feelings and notions come all at once, overwhelming your body and soul until you have nothing left to give. That's when I knew I had to leave, because he was getting too close and I wasn't ready to let the hope of Peter's sudden return fade so easily from my heart. I didn't love this man, I couldn't no matter how much I wanted to. I'm a shape-shifter, Gabriel and Peter are both humans I couldn't belong with them, so the question is, who do I belong with?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40