Don't blame the students and teachers, blame the system!

in #education7 years ago

Why are students in the US hating math and believing that they are incapable of learning it? Many math teachers, including myself are asking this question everyday. Let me show you two types of problem we assign to our students in a typical math classroom.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 1.13.20 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 1.13.30 PM.png

I am seeing at least 90% of the students in my school are working on problems like assignment 1 (typical math textbook in public school). This is a great computational assignment, but it definitely lacks the problem solving, creative thinking, and relationship between numbers. Let me give you a few solutions to assignment 2 and you can decide which assignment is better for the students.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 1.28.05 PM.png

I am simply sharing my thoughts and experience as a math teacher. I am willing to learn and adapt in order to become a better educator.

Mr. Cudavenguyen

Sort:  

Congratulations @cudavenguyen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, I'd like to include a link to this article in the next math-trail magazine. I hope that's fine with you.

!-=o0o=-!

To follow curated math content follow @math-trail.
If you wish @math-trail to follow you then read this article.
Click here for Mathematics forum on chainBB

Yes, please share so we can help improve the education for our students. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50