THE JOY OF TEACHING: NOTES FROM MY STUDENTS

in #education8 years ago (edited)

I resigned from my 6-year teaching job in Bangkok, Thailand last March 2016 to venture in logistics business with a start-up company. I left school at the beginning of the 4th quarter and those who didn't know my plans were surprised of my leaving the school. Including my students, who are mostly in 10th grade.

Burn-out

I was burnt-out and wanted to change environment and I have an opportunity to do so with a new business venture. I have been a teacher for as far as I can remember. Even when I was still in college, I had been teaching. Funny thing is, I never wanted to be a teacher, per se. But I love sharing knowledge so I guess it's the same thing.

Teacher Appreciation Day

Every year, in my old school, there is a day called Teacher Appreciation Day where students give appreciation to their teachers who mean a lot to them or have made an impact on their learning. And even now that I am not connected with the school, I have some friends who received students' note for me thanking me as their teacher.  

And this is one of the joys of being a teacher. When you make an impact on the lives of your students, that is a real incentive for me. And for those teachers out there, you are doing great work and I want to share with you what my students have to say about their Computer 2 Teacher:

From Tanya

The Cover

The Notes

She is talking about the "new teaching method" I used in teaching students to learn Photoshop and Illustrator. In one of my future posts, I will explain what that "new" method is.

From Natthapatt

The Cover

The Note

These are the things money cannot buy and they are treasures you can never put price tags on.

Being a teacher is the noblest of profession. Be proud if you are one. Your life makes a very important impact on the lives of your students.

Sort:  

It's great to look back at these... especially on the tough days. I'm a teacher too.

Glad to know another bird of the same feather. Yes, these notes make your day just a little better, reassuring that what we do matters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44