ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #2: ADVICE VS. ADVISE

in #education8 years ago

I need some advise here. I need some advice here. Can someone give me some? Anyone?

Many writers, even the veterans, confuse these two words in their usage. While some readers are more forgiving than others, there are those who are "keen" to these technical and grammatical errors that they tend to criticize the writer rather than appreciate the article itself.  It still pays to know what words to use. And as a writer, you have an obligation to convey your message with the right words and vocabulary to avoid confusion on the part of your readers.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an English Native Speaker nor an expert in English language. What I write here are all from experience and research. If you feel I am out of line or say the wrong things, please alert me in the comments. To this effect, I am not immuned to these confusing words myself and this series is as much as an education for me as to those who read these blog posts.

PHOTO SOURCE: LINKEDIN

Advice VS. Advise

PHOTO CREDIT: DICTIONARY.COM

Here’s another set of words that are very similar in sound and a very slight difference in spelling yet differ on their usage and meaning.

Advice is a noun which means a suggestion or an opinion or recommendation.

Example 1: My advice to the new Steemit members is to ignore the negativity that’s spreading around.

Example 2: The advice of my local grocer is to choose the organic produce instead of the regular vegetables on sale.

Advise is a verb which means to give advice, provide information and suggests course of action.

Example 1: I advise the new Steemit members to ignore the negativity that’s spreading around.

Example 2: The local grocer advised me to get the organic produce instead of the regular vegetables on sale.

Let’s Take a Quiz

Which of the sentences used advice and advise correctly? Check your answers by clicking the link below the quiz.

  1. My representative did not advice me following the death of my mother.
  2. He suggested crops to grow, and offered business advice.
  3. The Corporate Documents and Bank Advices were issued on 16 November.
  4. Crime alert letters were sent home advising parents to be vigilant.
  5. The travel agents adviced him to travel via Kuala Lumpur.
  6. He also gave some helpful advise on fire prevention in the home.
  7. He advices his customers on how to make their homes beautiful.
  8. What would you advise his wife to do?

Source: http://blog.oxforddictionaries.com/2014/05/advise-advice/

More information may be found here:

I hope we learned something new today. I surely did! See you in the next confusing words! If you like this series, please follow @cjclaro and upvote and resteem ;-)

Sort:  

Haha good one, there are many more which are just as confusing or if not even more so, oh and thanks for the advice upvoted.

Now we are learning 😄thanks for the upvote.

Thanks for the advice.

You are most welcome 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49