ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #16: STATIONARY VS. STATIONERY

in #education7 years ago (edited)

IN A SENTENCE:

It’s that STATIONARY yellow cart in the office that holds all the company’s STATIONERY and letterheads.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an English Native Speaker nor an expert in English language. What I write here are all from experience and research. If you feel I am out of line or say the wrong things, please alert me in the comments. To this effect, I am not immuned to these confusing words myself and this series is as much as an education for me as to those who read these blog posts.

PHOTO SOURCE: LINKEDIN.COM

STATIONARY VS. STATIONERY


STATIONARY VS STATIONERY.jpg

STATIONARY


...is an ADJECTIVE meaning not moving or not intended to be moved.

PHOTO SOURCE: BRONZEBIKERALLY.COM

Example #1: You can do cardio exercise in a gym with a STATIONARY bike.
Example #2: The train remained STATIONARY for 5 minutes at a station due to heavy rainfall.

STATIONERY


... is a NOUN, in fact, a MASS NOUN, which refers writing materials mostly manufactured for commercial purposes; this also includes office supplies that relates to writing.


PHOTO SOURCE: PRADEEPSTATIONERS.NET

Example #1: Our office orders STATIONERY from Office Depot because they offer free delivery.
Example #2: When I came back from coffee break, the STATIONERY on my desk was a mess!

HOW THEY ARE PRONOUNCED


Sort:  

Really helpful. Thanks for sharing

There are native speakers who have trouble with this pair of words.

true. how much more to non-native speakers ;-)
Thanks for dropping by @clemdane.

Very well explained @cjclaro. Upvoted and Resteemed.

Thanks @onlineprds. Be well.

thanks for share sir

Thanks for sharing

@cjclaro.......nice post ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #16: STATIONARY VS. STATIONERY.....thank

thanks. enjoy your day!

Excellent, bro. I like it. I'm learning with your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61978.49
ETH 3408.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48