ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #14: BORNE VS. BORN

in #education7 years ago

IN A SENTENCE:

My best friend was BORN out of marriage and grew up in a place where malaria virus is BORNE and spread by mosquitoes.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an English Native Speaker nor an expert in English language. What I write here are all from experience and research. If you feel I am out of line or say the wrong things, please alert me in the comments. To this effect, I am not immuned to these confusing words myself and this series is as much as an education for me as to those who read these blog posts.

PHOTO SOURCE: LINKEDIN.COM

BORNE VS. BORN


BORNE VS. BORN.png

BORNE


... is a VERB in the past tense and past participle form of the word “bear”. It means “carried by” as depicted by the following photo. It could also mean “to produce” or “to bring about”.


PHOTO SOURCE: WHERESIDEWALKSEND.COM

Example #1: Amidst the storm, the young chicks are BORNE by their mother to a safe place.
Example #2: My sacrifices and patience has finally BORNE (bear) fruit.

BORN


... is also a VERB and past participle of “bear” which means to “bring into existence” or “having to start a new life”.

PHOTO SOURCE: THECONVERSATION.COM

Example #1: I was BORN with a twin but I have never seen him since.
Example #2: “Born to be wild!”

FURTHER STUDY:
https://brians.wsu.edu/2016/05/19/born-borne/
http://www.differencebetween.net/language/words-language/difference-between-born-and-borne/
http://writingexplained.org/borne-vs-born-difference
http://www.gingersoftware.com/english-online/spelling-book/confusing-words/borne-born
http://www.grammarunderground.com/0073-born-of-or-borne-of.html

I hope we learned something new today. I surely did! See you in the next confusing words! If you like this series, please follow @cjclaro and upvote and resteem ;-)

Sort:  

Replies and comments to this post will receive 50% upvote from my voting power. If you're looking for rewards, please comment and upvote whenever you feel like it. Cheers!

Great post @cjclaro, very good information. My English is not very good and the google translater helped me

I use google translator to read some Spanish comments in my posts, too ;-)

Good post and nice description

Nice description @cjclaro. It's nice to read blog post from you.and also Its always carried good information indeed.Upvoted.

thanks for the upvote @whiteblood. will keep posting articles like this. i future plans for these babies ;-) have a good day.

great post. my dear friend @cjclaro

thank you my friend. glad to share it ;-)

Wonderful post.

thanks @hrhabibur. will keep posting, pls keep following and upvoting ;-)

nice post @cjclaro.....I just want to join you @cjclaro

Hi @sultan-aceh. Thanks for your support and joining in. Keep in touch. I'm posting more of these ;-)

Good explanation.

thanks @onlineprds. i learn as i research and write about these ;-)

You are welcome.

nice post @cjclaro......You are great friend @cjclaro

thanks @fahrullah. they will keep coming. thanks for you support ;-)

I LOVE the English language! The learning process definitely never stops 😅
This is a great, useful post! Thank you.
All the best!

Glad you find it useful. Will try to post more of these. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47