Alphabet Treasure

By Mrs. Canadian Renegade

Children are naturally inclined to learn. They are always exploring, testing, and analyzing. Their brains are busily working to build new connections and to understand the world around them. I've read countless times "Play is enough" and yet I find myself pondering how to cultivate an ongoing desire to learn.

Letters_Title.jpg

Our goal is to homeschool our kids, especially with the current education system prioritizing fact memorization over critical thinking and problem solving. My primary experience with learning is in the school setting and so I challenge myself with creative ways to engage my kids in learning without rebuilding the traditional school model in our home.

Lately, my nearly three and a half year old twins have expressed a desire to read and know their letters. When they free draw they make marks asking what letters or words they've written. As they practice copying these strokes their accuracy has improved and I notice them recognizing and redrawing letters correctly. Watching them be self motivated to learn is inspiring.

Letter_Search.jpg

One morning, I set up a letter treasure hunt for them. I dug out the sensory noodle bin and hid an entire alphabet of magnetic letters. Then, I set up my magnetic board lined with two sheets of paper and the alphabet. They were equipped with tongs, a magnifying glass, and their will to succeed.

LetterBoard.jpg

They enjoyed searching, matching, and identifying the letters. There were a few tricky ones that required exploring, flipping, rotating, and thinking about; namely b, d, p, and q).

In the end, they felt accomplished and I was glad to see their skills being put to use in a fun and engaging way. Education can happen in fun, creative, and playful ways.

Want your very own sensory noodle bin? Check out the DIY.


All photos in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.

Renegade_Outro.png


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and reblog to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Nice to see your daughters enjoying studying through playing. @canadianrenegade 😊👍🏻

I want to know about something that i can't be able to post normally in steemit whenever i am trying to write the post the letters turn into double & tripled. Did you face same problem to post in steemit? @canadianrenegade

I have not had an issue posting. Everything seems to be working good.

Ok... i am using it on my mobile may be that's why i am facing some problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70