One Critical "Steem Ed" Lesson I Forgot to Include in My Last Post: Please Read! :)

in #education6 years ago

In my last #Steemit #investing #education post, I taught you how to create candlestick charts in Microsoft Excel. However, I forgot to include one critical component that you may have noticed...and of course, I'd like to include it here.

While creating your first candlestick, I asked you to highlight columns B through F, but what about column A, the date!?!?? Time is a critical factor, isn't it??? :)

Yes, it is, and I'm going to show you how to incorporate the date. Also, please, please, PLEASE follow this date step in your chart as Excel tends to automatically reverse the time component if you don't add in the real dates!

After you have created your chart...

  • Point your mouse cursor to the edges (right, left, bottom, or top) of your chart, then click right-mouse button, and select "Select Data..."

  • Select "Edit" (see below pic)

  • Okay, so this part is critical -- point mouse cursor to cell A2 and left-mouse click it. Next, 'shift' 'ctrl' 'down arrow'. Hit OKAY, and hit OKAY again.

  • Your chart should now have dates, and the candlestick data should align perfectly!

Thanks for reading, and for more of my work and credentials, please see the following:
Sort:  

Very cool! I've been thinking of writing small tutorials on how to use Excel/Google Sheets for interpreting data and graphing. Good job! Have you thought about making a video?

I have, and I may, although I've been told via SEO professionals that for material like this, it's better to have text: that way, people can follow along and stop when they need to. Furthermore, these tutorial videos tend to be very long, and the engagement, traffic suffers.

That's the SEO component from what I learned, but of course, individual results may vary! :)

Interesting. I've been wondering about the SEO aspect of the videos too. Thanks for letting me know

Thank you very much for the tutorial!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44