Awareness or how to make the hidden visible

in #education5 years ago

Awareness or how to make the hidden visible

Why is awareness so important? Because it is the basis for a deeper relationship with oneself and others. Our experiences and feelings have often gone through the filter of the mind. And usually not just once. The question is what is left of our original impulses, or in what form our mind presses the existing. Even the most active, concentrated thinking is not the same as consciousness.

All too easily we get stuck in the roundabout of thoughts and habits. Repeating things, pushing us from difficulties, investing a lot of energy. We often rub ourselves under the influence of emotions. Get stressed, feel attacked, get angry. Be it in private or at work. And at some point we might think that's normal madness and happy when it's quieter one day. 

 

Awareness changes the way we see, what we see and feel. The less we are influenced by habits and expectations, the more room for new things opens up. We begin to understand ourselves and the conditions better, increasingly recognizing what touches us and others.

Consciousness as An Inner Attitude

Awareness goes hand in hand with a questioning attitude. Are things really the way I've perceived them so far? Or are there other possibilities? It's about accepting that we may know and perceive far less than we believe. It's about less claiming, but about watching. To have patience with yourself and the new information. Patience to let these things take their toll. 

 

Questions can be uncomfortable. Especially if answers are missing, which may make us embarrassed. But this is not about how to quickly have a suitable wording ready at school. Some insights just take longer, especially when we enter new territory. Questions seldom remain without effect. Even if it does not immediately answer.

  • In which direction do my questions bring me? 
  • Which assumptions underlie my questions? 
  • How much time do I have with my answers? 
  • What do I consciously perceive (including myself)? 
  • How do feelings change my perception? 

 

Likewise, views will likely come to frighten us. Feelings that are uncomfortable. I feel, for example, that I still carry a lot of anger and disappointment around with me. At first, I am anything but enthusiastic about it. But I am grateful too. Now I can give these feelings space and look more consciously, how I deal with it.

The big picture starts on a small scale

We often travel fast with our vision and the resulting reactions. Take things limited, similar to the viewfinder of a camera. Once out of habit, but also because often little time is available. In addition, we easily forget: it works differently. That's why I think it's important that we take our time to gather new impressions and thereby broaden our perception.

In these moments, we can focus our attention like a spotlight on the action. Take the speed out of everyday life by inhaling and exhaling a few times. Focus on one thing for a while. This creates the precious opportunity to observe the moment once in slow motion as under a magnifying glass.

"A change of consciousness also unconsciously changes being." - Gerhard Uhlenbruck

Direct Awareness

Paying more attention to the moment is an important step. But then soon more questions arise. What do I do with these new impressions? In terms of what can I become aware of? What should I concentrate on? From my experience, the following questions provide good assistance. I find it very important not to put pressure on you. It's not about wanting to do everything differently at once. That would be a complete overstrain. 

 

In what form do I rate? How do I think things are right or wrong? Mathematics is about logic, there are right and wrong answers. But these conclusions are rarely transmitted to life. Of course, we have the valuable ability to distinguish, to differentiate, to analyze. Whether these results in the particular situation then for any good or bad, is our assessment. From my point of view, it is important that we first become aware of our assumptions, evaluations, judgments.

How personally do I take things? When I refer to what happens in the first place, it quickly becomes tight and complicated. Unconsciously we project our thoughts and ideas on people and things. And annoy us when things are different. Become indifferent to others because they do not meet our expectations. Of course, the event has something to do with me. But not only with me. It's not so easy to recognize that. Too fast the feelings grab us, go through with one.

What am I feeling at this moment? What needs do I feel? Being aware of your own feelings does not mean that you can live them all out uninhibited. Rather, we can feel what touches and moves us. An important step towards self-knowledge.

Resistance

It would be a complete overstrain to expect of oneself, to make everything "right" and suddenly to live much more consciously. We do not even know where the journey is going. Rather, it is about step-by-step practice and goodwill towards yourself. Some findings are probably uncomfortable. Especially with unpleasant and less popular feelings such as pride, envy and jealousy. To realize that even such shadows live in one. But why should we spare it? Here, it is important to pay tribute to the courage, because we look deeper. And stick to it when it gets uncomfortable. 

Especially at the beginning it is a challenge to recognize the causes and connections of our behavior. Habits are strong. That's why it makes sense to practice if we're not too upset. Furthermore, there is the temptation to say after the first sense of achievement: wonderful, now I have understood. And maybe switch off. Insight, on the other hand, is growing day by day. It remains a constant task to be aware of one's own bias and to continue practicing.

Let Everything Rest and Meet Yourself

When I'm interested in something, a learning process usually begins. I'm looking closer, I'm ready to invest time. From this point it will be easier because the topic touches me. Basically, it's about being able to perceive freely, free of charge, experimenting. And to let go of the statement as it has to be. Small changes develop a great force in the long run. Over time, we feel how increasing awareness changes our perception. We suddenly develop more understanding and compassion, recognize new relationships and opportunities. This will fundamentally change our relationship with ourselves and others.

There Are Several Ways to Develop Awareness.

Relaxation - idleness can be very productive. In other words, if we take no breaks, quality of life and productivity decline rapidly. During a walk, a change of mind is often easier than at the desk. Let's look for a place where we feel comfortable, where everything is possible.

Reflection - Give yourself time to pause. Best distributed over the day. Maybe 5 minutes in the morning and 5 minutes in the evening. Here, for example, you can concentrate on your breath. How does it feel when the air flows into your body? How different is your breathing? It is also possible to keep a journal in which you write your impressions in a nutshell. At the beginning this may be a bit difficult for us. But conscious writing changes our perception over time. And, of course, it's good to share your impressions with someone else. Expressing yourself helps to process, reflect and experience. In addition, we learn from our counterpart a new perspective.

 

Meditation - There are very different forms of meditation. To explain this here would go beyond the scope of the article. At its core, meditation is a proven way to become more aware of the inner images and thoughts. Gradually, we learn more about our "inner life".

"Just do what you do - with as much awareness as possible. That's all. More is not necessary. Life takes care of the details. "- Samarpan


Being Touched by Life

Every person is unique because of his special combination of experiences and living conditions. That's why we can also find out for ourselves what is right for us, works for us. Guidance and exchange are helpful, but only we can go the way. On your own, for your own motivation. This is sometimes difficult at the beginning because questions arise, new insights might confuse us. For me, these are the very moments that make up life. Above all, what if we have no curiosity, no interest, no questions about life, about the moment?


I can only detach myself from ideas and habits, provided that I have recognized and understood them. Awareness is a way to become more aware of the inner images. Impressions arise through the perception of a viewer in whose consciousness they unfold. It is up to our attentive and sensitive attitude, whether we let ourselves be touched. Deep change is a matter of the heart. We may be able to change some things externally for a short time. But if it is not a matter of the heart, this change will not last. 

All of this helps me to experience life more intensively. My environment and to understand myself better. To develop compassion. Time and time again to pause, to decelerate, to recognize what touches me. How my feelings affect my thinking and vice versa. With the help of self-knowledge , the ability to try out new ways, to control my behavior more easily, to develop clarity grows. And above all to build a deeper relationship with me and my fellow human beings.


Every moment we live consciously will touch us in a special way.

  • Which impulse do you take with you? 
  • What would you like to know more about?

Read More Blog at Box of Inspiration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41