You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - Arkansas

in #education6 years ago

You can be fined for mispronouncing the state name. They have really thin skin about it and there are at least three legislative acts on the books dealing with it.

I may write about Jim Crow and segregation after I am done with this series on the states. It's a wide ranging topic that has made me crazy since I first found out that Baseball had to be integrated about the time that I was born. I personally believe that it is the single most harmful thing that has happened to/in our country and that includes the Civil War that killed and maimed over 500,000.

Physical punishment is still allowed in some states. Arkansas had over 14,000 paddling incidents in the most current year available (2016 I think).

Arkansas is swampy in the south. Dark Bayous are everyplace, and there are lots of Gators. I'm guessing this law was passed to limit illegal capture and sales to the pet market. I know I would hate to take a bath with a gator no matter how small :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84