You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How The American School System Has Destroyed The Value Of A High School Diploma

in #education7 years ago

I'm a sophomore in high school, and I feel that over half the stuff I am learning will not benefit me in real life. In a good amount of my classes I have been relearning the same thing since fifth grade. All of our classes are useful but only to a point, there is a time where we start learning things that may never benefit us in life. I feel that By eighth or ninth grade, maybe earlier, students should be able to choose what subjects they enjoy and want to learn more about(algebra,English,biology,etc.). With that said there are still some thin that I think should be mandatory for everyone. Everyone should learn about the political system, our human rights,atlas basic first aid, how to balance a check book, and so on. Instead of being taught how to sit down for hours and take a test, maybe we should learn how to survive in the real world.

Sort:  

I agree with a lot of what you said. By 8th or 9th grade, we should have given our students a good enough basic education that they can begin to specialize and head down a specific career path of their choosing. There are a lot of kids out there that want to be welders or auto mechanics, and we could have them certified for those careers by the time they graduated! I'm not sure why this isn't one of our prime focuses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41