Is education killing imagination?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #education7 years ago

Everyone believes and agree that the aim of education is creating human to be human being. And everyone believes that education can not separate from human life. It has taken a part of human life since our mother pregnant.

In January 2015, I did National Service Community Program (KKN Kebangsaan) at Sabang, Aceh collaborated with the student from Riau University and Sebelah Maret University (UNS) West Java. The program challenges us to address several problems that appear in the society. I and my friends whose come from the different background have been able to do it unless most of us unfamiliar with the location.

One of our programs is visited the local school. At the time we choose a senior high school. The school offered student from the third class. We run the program at the auditorium of the school at 9 pm. I was shocked when 75% the participants of talk show asked us "what is the important thing getting higher education at college?," "My parents told me that after finishing my study at this level. I am going working at village office as administrator and handle the secretariat needed. So, I do not need a degree at all," and the last statement which makes us speechless is "I have engaged with the local man. I am getting married for several months. So, entering to university is not necessary for my life."

Later, we design a creative assignment. The game was named "Bingo" with the rules. First, put their phone out of sight, choose one partner, then locate one colleague who can match the information in the box and complete any two full lines either horizontal, vertical or diagonal. But they were frantic, "how are we supposed to work with?" etc.

We wondered why they had no ideas to use their imagination and knowledge to finish the game.

I summarize that education system in Indonesia is not preparing students for the real world but the educations in Indonesia still refers to examination and learning structure, isn't?!

Sort:  

So what is your suggestion to solve that problem?

We gave them some courses in increasing their motivations, bg @citrarahman

Ya, in some school this is happening, the teacher asked the students to do what the teacher like, not what the student wanted.

but in other school, the teacher make the student free to chose what they like, teacher just a facilitator not dictator

Mostly school did the first one, bg Rio. They do not look at the student need. As a person who have interest on education we should look deeply to address the problem.

wow! I guess there are several countries with same problem! Too many time inside a classroom is killing creativity and imagination! I am here on steemit to teach people build web apps! Internet already has a big impact on how education is changing! Keep in touch!

Indeed, @nomadiego. I ll be the one who need your knowledge in building web apps. I really need it. Thanks anyway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45