You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When is the best time to teach your kids about SEX?

in #education7 years ago

Heeey,

First off, congratulations for having 'The Talk' go so smoothly!

I was very lucky to have very open parents that talked to me very early on about sex and sexuality. I think I was about 6 years old.
They explained it to me using a book. Now I can't remember what the book was called but I found an article with apparently 7 great books that could be used. Here it is : https://www.popsugar.com/moms/Sex-Education-Books-27332631?

The book that my parents used also explained families with same sex parents which I thought was really modern for 20 years ago!!

When I was 16, I remember being shocked at a teacher of mine because her 7 year old daughter didn't know about sex yet, let alone homosexuality. And they had a family member coming over who happened to be lesbian and she was bringing her female partner with her. And the teacher was at a complete loss as to how she was ever going to tell this to her daughter. She actually really didn't want to tell her daughter, she wanted to keep her innocent, which is just utter ridiculous in my mind. But anyway, she ended up telling her a few days before they arrived and guess what? The girlchild was totally cool about it. Goes to show that children are way more opener and comfortable with this stuff than we think!

ps. Great post!
:)

Sort:  

Thanks for the links :) Wow, a book explaining homosexuality back then!! Very modern indeed :D Thanks for the awesome comment!! Much appreciated :):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40