You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Mom, there's an active shooter in school"

in #education7 years ago

This actually brought tears to my eyes. I used to be a teacher and I can't imagine being a teacher, student or parent in this situation. How scary! It sounds like your son did a great job of keeping calm and using his head. Nice that they had an SRO - a lot of schools are now "sharing" one because of budget cuts - at least they were in the part of Texas we lived in. So the SRO would be at one school one day and another the next, or spend part of the day at one and then move to another. So crazy. I'm glad all the students and teachers were safe. So crazy that they left the bullet holes for the rest of the year! Thanks for taking the time to post this - I'm sure it was difficult to relive it all.

Sort:  

There are many schools here in WA State that have cut out the school counselors! How insane is that? School is stressful for most kids.

Where I am we have an SRO in every school.

Here's a frightening fact for you: The 4th grade MAP scores determine where the government funds go- to build more universities or to build more prisons...

Oh wow! That is totally crazy that the test scores decide which to build!! And in 4th grade?? They've already determined that the kids will either be smart enough to go to college or head toward prison. Scary! Sounds like self-fulfilling prophecy there for the state. Yikes.

Sounds like self-fulfilling prophecy there for the state. Right?

Whaaaat?! I didn't know that.

Yea. True story. I wish it wasn't, and to be honest I still find it surreal, but it happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54