Little things are more important than the big things- choosing a career

in #education6 years ago

                                   

                                   Image source

In today's life it is so difficult to choose the right career. This is actually one of the most difficult things I had ever had to do in my life. One thing that my teacher always said was that it is important to choose a career, that will create a stable income, and most importantly you need to enjoy the job that you have.  I think a lot of people are just floating around, because the do not really have a clue what they really want to do with their lives.  

We grew up in a different state of mind, and our career guidance was not the best in school. Once you finish school, it is a scary thought that you now have to start looking for a job or to go and study something for a career that you have to commit to and do for the rest of your life.   Most grown ups still don't know what to do with their lives, so it is a scary thought that we have to make a choice at such a young age.  

I decided to take a year off from school to try and make up my mind. I have always loved children, so I am definitely leaning towards pursuing my teaching degree in the near future. I made a list of things that I enjoy most, and ultimately this made the most sense to me.  

I am currently working as an Au-pair for a couple with two kids. I enjoy spending time with kids, and I help them with their homework in the afternoons.    

I have explored many options, and realized soon enough that I am not a good waitress. I made money, but the clients were rude and there were even some that wanted more than what I could offer.  To become a teacher would mean that I have to deal with difficult parents, but I guess when you are a teacher, you get used to the rude parents. 

If you are not sure what you want to do when you finish school it is important to make a list of the following things to help you make up your mind. 

Stick to your values!  

We all grew up in different areas and we all have different values. Make sure that the job you choose, fit in with your personality and that you can upkeep your values. You don't have to change, and become something that society forces you to be.  We can all be influenced but make sure that you keep your own values when choosing a career.  

Get educated! 

If you want to pursue a career, make sure that you get the right education.  I would even suggest doing some job-shadowing so that you can feel what it feels like in a real life situation.  Often enough we have a different idea about something and it turns out totally different that what we have imagined. 

Be interested! 

Make sure that you enjoy what you are doing.  There is nothing worse being in a situation where you are bored and just wish the day away. If you are really interested in something make sure you learn as much as possible about the topic and to keep learning as much as you can. 

Goals

Sometimes the goals we set for ourselves are not easily reachable. We often have to work hard to achieve our dreams, and if you are not dedicated, and committed to what you have chosen, you should rather choose something else. If this is something that you really want you will go to great lengths to achieve these goals. 

Do you have the skills to do the job?

Although skills are something we can learn, it definitely doesn't mean, that you can become a mechanic, just because you like cars. If you are not good at talking in front of others, then pursue a career where you con't work with too many people.  

Vision

If you choose a career, you need to visualize that career in the next ten years.  Are you willing to put in effort to achieve your goals to get where you want to be?

Ultimately life has a way of sorting itself out.  My personal belief is that we all land up where we are supposed to be. If you are not sure about your career choice, then relax and take your time.  Life is short, but not so short. A career choice is one of the most important choices that you have to make in life, so choose correctly, so that you don't waste a part of your life.  

Be the best that you can be! 

Sort:  

Yes, choose a direction that you want your life to follow. So so many of us change careers at least once in our lives. I believe that this is not a big deal anymore. As long as you have direction, your career choice will make itself know. I did not find my "happy spot" (my career) until I was 45 years old. I love what I am doing now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52