You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Educate Yourself - Free Online University (Fundamentals of Graphic Design Course)

in #education6 years ago

I think free education is a great way to learn but its hard if you don't actually have the motivation to see yourself through. In school, you get 'forced' to complete your studies. Online however, you can pay and forget about it. If its free, there may not be any ownership, but hey, free things are normally good things, no?

Sort:  

Hmm yeah, this works for good and for bad. First off, when forced to learn something there are lots of reasons why you wont actually learn it, or you will learn it and forget it because its not relevant. I studied socials in grade 10, got super high marks on the provincial, and then promptly forgot it.

Even though I do not study so intensely when I am learning on my own, I retain the information better because I actually care and am engaged in with what I am learning, and that gives it meaning and makes it much better.

I suppose if you pay you might wanna get your bang for your buck, and for someone like me who doesnt have the spare cash I am always hesitant to pay for an online course because its likely I will get distracted and not complete it, which would be a waste. Thats why I like it free, you can be more lenient with yourself if you lose interest, and you can come back to it when you regain intrest too. It is organic! If your really seerious then a study plan and paying for the course (since it is on a schedual) would be better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89