You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nonverbal Education in Aldous Huxley's "Island"

in #education8 years ago

Fascinating post, as always. I absolutely agree that education should be holistic. The ingredient I've looked into is factoring in the fact that all education shapes the structure, size, activity patterns and development of the brain. What I wonder is whether you can, maybe not quite personalize but something close, the experience so that development is also holistic. A well-balanced brain can surely do more with a well-balanced education.

Skipping back in time a bit, to our projects discussion, I'd like to get the router, the GPR and the Mandelbrot software well into alpha, bordering beta, by the end of the year. It might be possible to get one of them version 1.0 by then.

Sort:  

Thanks. I don't know that much about the development of the brain itself and neuroplasticity, but I agree that this should be taken into consideration in education. I feel like what you're wondering about is possible and I'd love to ask a neuroscientist about this. I have a hypothesis that brain patterns that are too solidified are connected with depression and dementia, but this is just because the clinically depressed and demented people I know are extremely set it their ways and rarely leave their comfort zones.

That sounds reasonable. The Mandelbrot software is the easiest to start with since I've built some in the past. :-) How about if I let you know the status of these projects by mid September (say Sept. 15) and then we go from there? I'll let you know if I have questions before then. I am getting married in 9 days, so I can spend a little time working on this now and A LOT of time after the wedding.

Sure, that works out fine. And best wishes on a wonderful wedding and a happy marriage.

Ok, great. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34