How to Survive College 101: Studying

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Master Your Classes

Background

I want to preface this article by detailing that it is primarily aimed at incoming or present college students seeking pieces of advice from a recent graduate. I know how daunting college can get and what the pressures can do to you, so I felt compelled to offer some knowledge through my experience.

I am a recent graduate from Marquette University with a degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. My personal goals consist of furthering my education whether it be by attaining a PhD or MD; therefore, what I preach I do in fact intend to continue practicing.

Meeting With Professors

To some this can be quite daunting. Maybe you are one in a three-hundred person lecture hall and just cannot seem to find the opportunity to catch your professor after class, maybe he is constantly swarmed with students and if you wait much longer you'll be late for your next class, or maybe you really just do not want to approach him.

This is the fact of the matter: you do not have to be best friends with all of your professors, but create meaningful relationships with at least two to three. What do I mean by "meaningful?" I mean when junior year rolls around and your future boss for the company you have been dying to work for asks for an academic letter of recommendation, you need to have that professor, or those few professors who will gladly write to them about how great you are. On the flip side, you do not want to be a senior scrambling to beg teachers who don't remember your name to write letters for that Master's Degree you need to progress in your career. Make sure you create positive, and lasting encounters.

This also applies to grades - true teachers value seeking help immensely. Attending office hours, consistently posing questions, and being present for review sessions only enhances the teacher's perception of your work ethic. I cannot even begin to describe how many professors are willing to help your grade when you show your dedicated to improving. Go to class. Ask questions. Make relationships.

Tutoring

This is not as universal since schools have various forms of tutoring but the concept is the same. If free tutoring is offered on your campus, take advantage of it. With absolutely no shame I signed up for all the tutoring I could get in undergrad. Why? Some tutors will go through old exams with you that are very similar to the ones you will be taking, if you partake in group tutoring, you can get phone numbers of classmates who will be willing to collaborate on homework and studying, and you can shrink down that huge lecture hall to a much smaller scale where it's easier to ask questions. Tutors also take the time to go over concepts that may have either been covered in too little detail in class or too difficult to comprehend at first glance. These individuals are usually students who did well in the class you're currently enrolled in so they have the tools to help you succeed too.

Study Groups

You do not want 11 pm to come when you realize that you have no clue how to do that homework assignment due in 59 minutes and no one to contact for help. Make connections with people in your classes. You'll soon realize that it doesn't matter if they're hot or popular, sure that's a bonus, but what matters is now you have expanded your network of help. Become the ring leader, have your connections meet, create large study groups, and now you'll find you're drowning that much less.

Numerous times I have received texts from friends in my classes reminding me of assignment due dates or last minute activities that I would have forgotten to log if it weren't for them. You don't have to become best friends with your study partners but establish a mutualistic relationship where it becomes routine to work on assignments and study together. Remember, you all have one common goal: to succeed in the class. By combining study methods and academic backgrounds you not only learn the material but adopt new ways to study, memorize, or even note-take. Group studying also allows individuals to play to their strengths as teaching the material is one of the most effect means of learning. For example, maybe one partner knows chapter 18 better so he explains it to the group while you have a better grasp of chapter 19, and so forth. I guarantee you will find this a truly beneficial experience.

Conclusion

Obviously every person has different methods for academic success; what works for you may not work the same for someone else. Feel free to leave any constructive criticism below or additional feedback on what works or worked best for you! I love hearing new opinions!

As always, thanks for the read!

Side note: a very good friend of mine, @chriscostello, who happens to be an extremely successful, young entrepreneur has joined Steemit. He has mastered social media's various forms and is no stranger to creating businesses. If you're interested in creating your own brand or learning the ins and outs of social media, check out his page!

Sort:  

I think what elevated my academic success is becoming friends with people in my classes. Having the ability to ask people questions about topics you don't understand is huge. You're right on about study groups!

Thanks Dom! At first it's difficult to extend yourself and create those groups but man did they help! Totally agree with you.

I definitely second what @dominicdigi said. Create friend groups in your classes, itll help with studying!

absolutely chris!

Those are very important steps to take in school. Where I come from, your relationship with professors make a world of difference and sometimes, they may be the difference between excellent grade and a very good grade. It never hurts knowing them. I had a similar issue as the one you mentioned when I got my first job. Fortunately, even though I was not very close to any of my professors, they knew me and getting those references signed was easy. It is nice to meet you here. Hopefully I shall be reading more from you as I have followed you. All the best.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post! Yes, when it comes to making relationships with teachers it's extremely important as you never know when you may need a letter of recommendation or even a reference! I've had classes where the professor has helped my grade due to my persistence! Thanks for sharing your insight! I followed you back - please keep in touch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59559.24
ETH 2523.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42