You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Your Hidden Curriculum?

in #education7 years ago (edited)

A lovely story!

I watched a movie recently, The Circle (2017), based on Dave Eggers' book of the same name, and I was struck by its philosophy of absolute transparency, possibly best embodied in the quote "secrets are lies". It's interesting cos it would seem to imply that everything must come out into the open and then morally assessed by a committee, which at the same time sounds desirable and somehow also like a violation of our human rights. And I feel the same question arises from reading your story.

I think the 'hidden curriculum' term will be stuck with me forever now!

Was the pseudonym 'Thomas' inspired from 'doubting Thomas'? :P

Sort:  

Actually, it was inspired by Thomas the Train. Lol. Seriously. I wrote this just as my daughters (4 and 6 years old) went to bed. They had been reading a Thomas the Train book just before bedtime and it was the first name that popped into my head. At least I didn't go with Sir Topham Hatt - sitting lazily in the back of my classroom, tuxedo arms crossed, top hat brim covering his eyes. Like a gangsta.

Glad I could add another phrase to your vocabulary. Between that and @philosophist's "subversive integrity," there's a lot to chew on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47