Introduction to Online Learning / オンライン講座のすすめ(と分散型社会での教育)

in #education6 years ago (edited)

In Japan it's "Golden Week", consecutive holidays from the end of April to the beginning of May. My Japanese client companies are in holidays too but we are traveling and our baby doesn't holiday (or everyday holiday and need us) ... Then I decided to start a series of online course on Coursera, whose related course I took last summer to design a sandwich composer AI ;)

Deep Learning Specialization | Coursera

As I like online courses and I had chance to talk about them at a hacker space in Tirana Albania, I started writing about what is good about online courses. I mention the future of education and upcoming distributed society in the end.

Online course platforms

There are two major one that provide courses by top universities and famous companies: Coursear and edEX.

Coursera

I take courses on Coursera and only receive list of courses periodically via email from edEX. Titles on the list looks interesting so I may take some on edEX too in the future :)

What kind of coursers are available?

I mainly take courses about emerging tech in computer science field to update my knowledge for my work and my hobby. As Coursera was founded by two Machine Learning professors of Stanford University, the platform can be more computer science field focused.

However there are variety of courses. I enrolled a course titled "Child Nutrition and Cooking" before. At the hacker space in Tirana one member said he ended up learning buddhism history on edEX. Humanities courses are available.

Here is the category list of edEX:

スクリーンショット 2018-04-28 9.16.20.png
Screenshots (Left: PC / right: smartphone) of Child Nutrition and Cooking course

Unfortunately there are not many basic language courses. I wish there were German language courses ...

Good things about online courses

There are a lot and I can be too talkative about this topic. The top three benefits are:

  • Learning any time and any where even on airplane :) Lecture videos and slides are downloadable.
  • Lecture videos are around 10 minutes. They can easily slip in ones spare time.
  • Easy to keep pace of learning with weekly follow up

coursera.png
Screenshots of Child Nutrition and Cooking (Left: PC / Right: Coursera smartphone app)

Other than these, small quiz in the end of a video and weekly test/homework help me have better understanding, online forums for people of same batch keep me motivated, course certificates can be on Linkedin ... Coursera is well designed. So do edEX as long as I heard from others.

Tuition fee

Some courses are offered for free if you don't need your course certificate. The paid courses costs around $50 per course and some are monthly subscription based that costs around $50 per month. It's not cheap but you can apply for exemption of tuition fees.

As I'm quite satisfied with the courses I took and I'm happy to have my course certificates on my Linkedin profile, I paid two courses I took so far and I will pay for the deep learning course I mentioned in the beginning of this post. As it costs $49/month I have to hurry up to finish it :D

Future of education in the upcoming distributed society

In this post I introduced online courses and platforms. I write a long post separately in the future but except for my pure desire to acquire knowledge I think it's important to earn credits on these platforms and keep my learning record visible to be ready for the upcoming distributed future. We may not earn credits from a single school or university. It might be convenient we can show my credits in English easily as we may work for multiple companies ... Online courses have many benefits.

 
So I keep posting on Steemit and learning on Coursera during the Japanese holidays (in Albania!)


GWですね。みなさん連休中は何をしますか?私は日本の仕事先がいくつかお休みで少し時間があるものの、赤ちゃんは毎日営業中、旅先でもあり・・・サンドイッチの具の組み合わせを考えるAIを作りたいなということで、以前から受講したかったディープラーニングのオンライン講座を始めることにしました。

Deep Learning Specialization | Coursera

先日アルバニアのハッカースペースでオンライン講座いいよねという話になったこともあり、オンラインの講座のよさを紹介して、来たる分散型社会(?)と教育の関係もちょろっと書いてみようと思います。

オンラインの講座のプラットフォーム

有名大学や企業による講座を受講できるオンライン講座のプラットフォームとして CoursearedEX が世界的に有名です。どちらももともと英語のプラットフォームですが、Coursera は日本語化も進んでいるようで、利用にあたって昔ほど言葉のハードルは高くないと思います。

Coursera

私はもっぱら Coursera を使っていて edEX は定期的にメールで届く新しい講義のリスト眺めるのみですが、おもしろそうなタイトルを見かけるので機会があったら edEX の講座も受講してみたいと思っています。

どんな講座を受講できるのか

私は主に仕事や趣味の知識をアップデートするためにコンピューター関連の講座をとっています。Coursera はスタンフォード大学の機械学習の教授ふたりがはじめたプラットフォームということもあるのかコンピューター関連の講座が多い印象です。

ただ、コンピューター関連の講座ばかりというわけではなく、私は子どもの栄養に関する講座をとったこともあります。ハッカースペースで話していたら「あれこれ講座を見ていたらなぜか仏教の歴史の講座にはまってしまった」という人もいました。Coursear、edEX ともに人文系の講座も提供しています。

edEXのカテゴリーはこんな感じで、いろいろな分野の講座が提供されています:

スクリーンショット 2018-04-28 9.16.20.png

ただ、語学についてはあまり講座がないのが残念。ドイツ語の講座があったら受講するのだけどなあ。

オンラインの講座のよさ

ありすぎて語り出したらとまらないので3大いいところを。

  • 講義動画や資料をダウンロードできるのでいつでもどこでも学習できる(飛行機の中でも!)
  • 講義は10分ほどのビデオに分割されていて隙間時間にぴったり
  • 一週間区切りで進んでいるかチェックが入るのでペースをつかみやすい

coursera.png
Child Nutrition and Cooking のスクリーンショット (左: PC / 右: スマートフォン)

そのほかにも講義動画の終わりの小さなクイズや週ごとの課題で理解が深まったり、同期受講者のフォーラムがあったり、修了証書を Linkedin に貼れたり、全世界で多くの受講者がいるだけあって本当によくデザインされています。

まだそこまで多くはありませんが私が受講したいくつかの講座では日本語の字幕も見かけました。仮想通貨に関する講座は対応した日本語書籍が出ているので書籍を読みつつ講座を進めました。人気の講座だと日本の受講者がブログを書いていることもあるので参考になるかもしれません。

気になる授業料は?

修了証書が不要の場合無料というものもあります。有料のものだと1講座$50ほど、月額課金のものだと1ヶ月$50ほどと決して安くはないのですが、授業料免除のシステムがあるので「出費がきついよー・・・」という学生の方などは申請してみてもよいかもしれません :)

私はこれまで受講した講座にはとても満足していて、修了証書を Linkedin に貼れるのもよいかなという下心で授業料を払っています。

教育の未来、分散型社会

オンライン講座のプラットフォームを紹介してみました。またこれは別途投稿したいのですが、純粋な知識欲とは別に、これからは教育もひとつの学校にしばられず分散化する時代になるかもしれず、こういったプラットフォームで継続的に勉強して単位をとって、見える形にしていくことは意味があるのではとも思っています。

 
そんなこんなで GW は Steemit をうろうろしつつ、オンライン講座が3日坊主にならないようにがんばります ;)

Sort:  

オンライン講座、ぼんやりと興味はありつつも、ちゃんと調べたことがなかったので情報嬉しいです。
赤ちゃんがいる生活では、一度に長時間の勉強は無理ですもんね。10分程度のビデオにまとめられているというのは魅力的です^^

Resteemさせてください(いつかのために…)

そうなんですよ!10分動画がありがたいです :) うちは最近スマホを認識して貸してくれとダダをこねるようになってしまってなかなか一人遊びのすきに…といかなくなってしまいました 😱 産後赤ちゃんが抱っこ紐で寝ている時やベビーカーで寝ている合間にちょこちょこ進めていました。Steemit とも違った達成感があって好みの人にはオススメです。

私も語学を習いたいと思っているので、オンライン講座とか便利だなと思ってます。
ゆっくりあとで見させて頂きます♪
情報ありがとうございます。

一般的なドイツ語入門みたいな講座はあまり見当たらないのですがビジネス英語の講座などはあるみたいですよ。一般的な外国語講座は NHK のラジオ講座のストリーミングが放送後一週間無料で公開されているので家事しながらよく聞いています 😊

詳細ありがとうございます😊

私もオンライン講座に興味があったので参考にします!
時間割をガッツリ決められて通うタイプのものは昔から行くのがストレスだなと思ってしまいます(^_^;)

自分で時間配分できて通わなくていいのよいですよね。通いといえばもう何年も先延ばしにしている語学学校…流石に今年は気合を入れて始めようかなあ 😅

西日本新聞(中の人)です。コーセラが日本語化しているのは知りませんでした、報道関係の授業もあり、気になっていました。情報ありがとうございます。

コメントありがとうございます。報道関係もおもしろそうですね!以前 Wikileaks について調べて書いていた時にデータジャーナリズムにも興味を持ったのを思い出しました。この辺りも講座あるかもしれませんね。探して受講してみたいと思いました。受講されたら感想読んでみたいです :)
それにしても新聞社の中の人までいるなんて!私も書く仕事をしているはしくれでなんだかうれしいです。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63095.58
ETH 2475.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64