Becoming A Teacher In Digital Age: Promoting Digital Literacy Learning

in #education7 years ago

What is digital literacy?

I got this question when I participated In a short-course program that initiated by Regional English Language Office (RELO) of United Stated Embassy associated with my University UIN Arraniry. This program is called Indonesia Massive Open Online Course (IMOOC). This program focus on the implementation of technology for learning.

One of modules that I had to learn is about digital literacy. Digital literacy is the use of digital technology, communication tools and network to locate, evaluate, use and create information. Furthermore, Barbara, et al defines that digital literacy is the person’s ability to perform task effectively in a digital environment; literacy includes the ability to read and interpret media, to reproduce data and images through digital manipulation, and to evaluate and apply new knowledge gained from digital environment.

In 21 century learning, the model of digital literacy is a must for students and teachers. However, being a teacher means you have to be able to use the technology in teaching-learning process, in school in particular.

When I was taking this short course, I had to conducted several project to use digital learning in my class. One of them is I had to create an infographic about “HOW TO BE A TEACHER IN DIGITAL AGE ”. The infographic that I created had shown my understanding of digital learning model before I applied this model for my students in the classrom.
You can check here the infographic of mine to understand about "Becoming A Teacher In Digital Age":
Become a Teacher.jpg

Sources:

  1. Barbara R. Jones-Kavalier and Suzanne L. Flannigan: Connecting the Digital Dots: Literacy of the 21st Century;
    http://connect.educause.edu/Library/EDUCAUSE+Quarterly/ConnectingtheDigitalDotsL/39969

Regard,
ALFYD

Sort:  

Love this article. Proud millennial teacher here! Thanks for sharing @affiedalfayed

thank you @juliusian,
I think the teachers everywhere must gain the knowledge of 21 century model of learning.

Absolutely @affiedalfayed! As the world's technologies advance and upgrade, so as the needs of the 21st century learners.

thank you for reestem my post @steemiteducation.
I have followed you and upped your post.
lets write about education on this community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49