Go Galt on universities

in #education8 years ago

A friend wrote this during graduation weekend and gave permission to share it. I'm also asking him to join steemit.

I think people should “go Galt” on Universities. It’s not even just about the tuition fees, student loans or the textbooks (oh it is, just not only) but it’s all this constant cultish jargon and indoctrination about “safe spaces” and “checking your privilege,” etc. designed to make the college experience hell for uncomforming students.

And I appreciate those who would like to make a case for studying and training for specialized fields. I have nothing against education study or training, quite the contrary. That being said, what frustrates me is the ridiculous things student groups and social engineers can get away with on those campuses with regards to censoring speech and dissent that doesn’t agree with their collectivist agenda. So I’m calling out the cultish university and liberal arts college environment and culture for what it is: social toxicity calling itself “global citizenship."

Sort:  

It's funny how the cost of so-called "higher education" has mostly just become a tax on the economically illiterate.

Yeah...I mean no disrespect to all my friends and family members who just graduated, but I can't believe any parents are actually paying these tuitions and fees to begin with (and going in debt to pay them), so the bizarre examples of what they do on campus that I hear from my sisters and others are especially disturbing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84