You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mapping a New World: Who Will Be the Best People to Navigate it?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Now this is my kind of post! Thanks for a great read @riverflows :-) One thing that's essential in any leader that wants to guide the whole of humanity towards a better future, is a long-term view. And I don't mean long-term as in business, but really long term. Thinking in tens and hundreds of generations instead of just the few years until the next election round.

Who would that be? Our forefathers embarged on projects of which they themselves would never see the result; a cathedral took several generations to build. We modern humans seem to only want to invest in the stuff we ourself can enjoy while we're still alive. Generational selfishness. "The entitled generation." "The me me me generation." All terms we've just recently had to come up with as they describe the current state of western culture. And since western culture is the dominant culture, it is us that have to change.

And then we will be the best choice to guide our-self through an honest, well informed democracy ;-)

Okay, I've been known to be a dreamer...

Just my two cents for an article that deserves far more than that: Thanks so much @riverflows! :-)

Sort:  

@zyx066 absolutely flattered. I love this:

Thinking in tens and hundreds of generations instead of just the few years until the next election round.

Yes! We need that kind of vision.

Oh -

Our forefathers embarged on projects of which they themselves would never see the result; a cathedral took several generations to build

Yes! I love this. I read a book years ago about the building of a cathedral across generations and it always appealed to me alot.

Dreaming and vision is important - without this, nothing can change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89