You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🦋 Ecotrains Question Of The Week: "If there is a God, why do so many bad things happen?" 🦋

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I very rarely come across a description of what God is (or could be) that is as much in line with my beliefs as this post is. Thank you for putting it in such beautiful words, much better than I think I could. I grew up Catholic and went through all sorts of phases, never really feeling the need to believe any particular thing and at times quite happy in the assumption that there was no god at all. Eventually I settled for sitting on the fence for many years, and letting myself be surprised when the day of my departure comes. Over the years, however, my very own version of a God (or whatever one wants to call it) has developed within me, comprising elements that much resemble what you have written. And with this, I became a happier and more content person, even when the most tragic things happened to our close friends that affected me as well. I don't know how I would react if our own family would experience something that devastating. I hope I'll never have to find out. And I'm sorry to hear about your dad.
I also have my reservations about karma. Saying that good things come to good people is like saying that bad things come to bad people. This can't be right because, as you say, lots of bad things happen to good people all the time (and the other way round).
I like the idea of something bigger than our body and mind being within us. Every time I close my eyes, I feel like something is there that gives me comfort and is guiding me through life. I trust that it has my best interest at heart. But I also know that there are those physical forces involved in life on Earth that we have no control over. Things we have to accept as neither good or bad, they just are. And yes, one day we will all leave this realm and (probably, hopefully, maybe?) go to another.

Sort:  

But I also know that there are those physical forces involved in life on Earth that we have no control over. Things we have to accept as neither good or bad, they just are.

Absolutely.

You know... karma I struggle with but i think its just because i am seeing it in a too simple way. But EVERY action or thought does end up residing in our tissues, mind, spirit in some way. Then surely this action in.the world must have consequences elsewhere... I guess we often see karma as a force outside ourselves.. like a judgey Christian god saying SO THERE... but it is a bit more complex than this.

I am so glad this resonated with at least one person! Love your thoughtful comment so much..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44