You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Age of Information - University Vs Youtube - A Response to Ecotrain QOTW...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

What a great read. I happen to have two degrees, and I definitely value education, but I agree, it definitely doesn't need to be in a formal setting. I've learned more things by sitting and doing than by any other method. Interestingly, I was using YouTube just last night to help me through a coding problem I was facing.

In the same vein I am a big supporter of modern technology. Anyone with a smart phone literally has access to the entirety of human knowledge in the palm of their hands. I value a formal education for encouraging children how to think and solve problems with the tools they have, and then to make new tools if the current ones aren't satisfactory.

Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Technology is amazing and has given access to so much knowledge and I feel should be used more and more in educating our kids - doing away with those old tradition ways of school learning. There is so many different ways of learning that I think the regular classrooms can be a thing of the past.
Like your idea of having the kids develop new tools if the tools they have been given aren't working - keep things progressing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13