You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part 1: How kids learn

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Good summary- I look forward to more investigation into the details in the future.

I was homeschooled '83-'00. By the age of 13 I was mostly self-taught and I am still excited to learn! I am finding that marching to the beat of my own drummer is not an easy path. Those who were conventionally educated don't know what to do with oddballs, so they often give us a hard time. So I am trying to adapt to social conventions a little without losing myself. It is absolutely important to be part of communities dedicated to learning, spiritual transformation, personal and professional development, dreaming together and sharing solutions and thoughts in a context of mutusl respect. A person can just shrivel up without that!

Have you read Ivan Illich? I found him in college. He talked about decentralization of all systems. In "De-schooling Society" he proposes that education be de-centralized, de-hierarchified (i just made that up), de-institutionalized FIRST in order to create a different world. The current model is used to control people as they are being formed so that they will be ready to participate in systems of control for the rest of their lives. If we want our children to become free adult humans, we must treat them as such now.

Sort:  

That's really wonderful your parents let you lead the way with your own education. It's really not easy to be different. I can definitely identify with that. Sometimes it feels really lonely and isolating. I've been thirsting for more community for quite some time now, and I have found an absolute treasure trove here on Steemit. So many like minded, supportive, loving, brilliant people. It's been a tremendous blessing.
I haven't read that, but it sounds right up my alley. I absolutely and totally agree that we have to start the change with children. I think raising kids is the most important and revolutionary work we can do right now. I also think treating children respectfully is one of our biggest issues. And I like your new word. It's a good one. Thanks for stopping by with a thoughtful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37