You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom in America - Too Much or Not Enough? Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I am with you on about 90% of this. I especially think it is crucial to think of who is being exploited or oppressed in order for us to be "free".

One question I have for you: if humans are perennially, pathologically bad judges of what is in their own best interests, is "full self-expression" an absolutely good thing? In other words, given how much harm we've done with limited freedom, do you think we'd do less harm with full freedom? maybe i'm just re-stating @eco-alex 's question.

Sort:  

"if humans are perennially, pathologically bad judges of what is in their own best interests, is "full self-expression" an absolutely good thing?" - this has got me scratching my noggin. I feel like there is a lot to this question. Well, ultimately there needs be be a leap in evolution away from such disastrous and dangerous behaviors we see. But I don't think that anyone should limit freedom of expression. Does a dictator have the right to full freedom os expression? This is where it gets really fuzzy for me.

The flip side of this is that given 100% freedom the action of dictators (to use an extreme example) could be addressed and halted by others who are executing their freedom and protecting the freedom of others.

Good point @wildlocusthoney! Thanks for inciting the thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41