You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ecoTrain Question of the week - What was one of the most profound spiritual moments of your life?

in #ecotrain7 years ago (edited)

That was an incredible story. I haven't heard many German reflections on world war 2, I have a rather light, drunken fun kind of relationship with the two or three German friends I've made, so this is a topic we've never talked about. They don't seem to mind about my background so I never really tried to pry. Maybe I should. You have nothing to feel guilty about, you are already doing much to reverse the pain of the past. Keep it up.

Thinking about showing this story to my father.

Your girlfriend sounds totally awesome too.

Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback, @whatamidoing .
It´s good that you have a nice relationship with some German friends and depending on their age it might also cause some awkwardness if you brought up the topic. The kids nowadays are so far removed from the topic, for them the Holocaust is ancient history. Which is good in one way, good for them on a personal level, so they are not affected by it like I was, but maybe not good in another way, because forgetting includes the danger of repeating.

Apparently remembering doesnt illuminate the possibility of repeating though :-/ We've got to build something new and different from what we've had I think.

So true.
The new and different for me can only mean , that people need to understand that it is morally wrong that people rule over people since it is the state, the government, the people in power which profit from wars and atrocities and in the course of history have lead "normal" people to commit bigger crimes in the name of God and country than they would have dared to commit on their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45