You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Happy Place and How I Get Out of An Emotional Hole

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Although our circumstances are different I can relate to your struggles, I've been there (I am there) and I appreciate you sharing such an honest post, stories like this can help to change lives, by giving hope to others.

I am fascinated by Tai Chi, I used to watch a group practice while I slogged away on the treadmill too shy to pursue it. I totally regret that. I wonder if it's something you can teach yourself at home? (I can't justify the long drive to town for classes - nor do I think there are any around here).

Sort:  

Thank you, it is nice to relate and follow our individual healing journeys together :) I am glad to see your hard work is also paying off!

The question about Tai Chi is better asked to an expert, but here is my opinion:

I am somewhat reluctant to suggest practicing tai chi from video and without a teacher because there are many intricate corrections and insights that I receive from my teachers that I would never have known otherwise. Also there is risk of building bad habits in terms of my body's structure (akin to bad habits lifting weights that could result in injury later on).

That said I have never tried to learn by video or online and my teacher has tons of youtube videos and I'll share the link with you in case you are interested to peruse them and I think you could get a lot out of these free teachings (they are not in order, so beginning videos are mixed with advanced): https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0095908C722CF844

If your goals are relaxation, stretching and breathing I suspect that qi gong might be a practice to consider pursuing by video. I am not qualified to say for sure, but I think qi gong might be easier to excel in without a teacher's close eye.

If you are curious to talk to him I could put you in touch and he would have a much more informed answer for you!

Thanks for all the information, I really appreciate you taking the time to give me your thoughts on this. I'll watch some videos and look up qi gong as well, just to see how I feel about it all. I really am itching to try something new! :)

I think you would enjoy it :) Tai chi and chi gong are very peaceful. I have the best balance I have ever had in my life thanks to tai chi and better understanding of how to use my body while putting less pressure on my joints... something that will come in handy as I get older.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43