Nature, A Reflection Of Myself

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Today I began my day feeling heavy, feeling bogged down. I had been thinking a lot about what is going on in my life at the moment and as is the way, I could feel myself starting to slip down into my sadness. Feeling sad is okay, it is part of life.But I do know that getting outside into my natural environment is one of my best therapies.

But sometimes when I feel like this, even stepping outside can seem like a huge mission. But today my two eldest daughters really wanted to go to the beach, my inner voice was saying yes, but my head was saying no. It's much easier to go with your head and just push on through your day.But they were very persistent, so off we all went. Bundling ourselves into my partners, brothers van.


Image Source:https://pixabay.com

The last time I took the road we travelled today, was prior to all the rain that we have had this year. As we left today, the sky was very dark, the clouds hanging heavy in the sky. It was exactly how I was feeling. In the distance was thunder, rumbling and echoing through the mountains, I do like this type of weather. I love thunder especially in the mountains, as it seems to amplify the sound. We drove on and as we did some rain began to fall.

One year ago a lot of this land was dry and bear, but not today, today there was green to be seen on these rocky mountains and the river was flowing fast and strong. There was even a waterfall next to the road that I never saw before. Wild flowers were gracing the mountainside with their presence, it was just what I needed to see.

IMG_5948.JPG

It was like taking a deep breath, the type that really awakens your senses. It's amazing the amount of people who don't breath probably, who just take shallow breaths. I catch myself doing it sometimes. But just being outside in nature corrects our breathing. It makes us slow down, slow down and smell the roses, as the saying goes.

When I am outside surrounded by nature there is no place for my heavy heart. Out here I feel lighter, out here I can take a breath that cleanses me. Just driving along and taking in all that beauty made me breathe deep, made me feel lighter. We were driving towards the coast and leaving the mountains behind and with them the dark sky and heavy clouds. Just as the atmosphere around me became lighter so did I.

We got to the beach and the skies were blue, the sea was just a little choppy, it was perfect. Of course I still carried my pain. But by taking this drive and being next to the sea I got to recharge, to reconnect with the earth. To swim,to breathe deeply over and over again, to hear the sea lapping against the shore. All of this helps me to carry my pain, to honour it.


https://pixabay.com

Life is not meant to be all raindrops and daffodils, we are meant to get dark skies and heavy clouds, we are meant to experience this because it helps us deal with our pain. Pain is real, it has a purpose, it is our bodies way of communicating with us. It is telling us to listen, to slow down, to honour ourselves and our bodies. It is telling us to take time out to heal.

Today I did just that with the help of my daughters. So slow down, breathe deep and listen to your children.


Today I travelled with my camera and took some photos that I wanted to put with this post, but somewhere along the way my camera got broken so I cannot share what was taken, these photos are the closest I could find to represent where I was and what I saw today.

1st Image Source:http://klikni.mypage.cz/temy/indigove-kristalove-a-duhove


resteem.png

Big Big Thank You To @byn for designing my logo.


Sort:  

Gosh we must be synced!!! I felt exactly the same out on the beach with my nephew yesterday. I was hankering for salt water and nature but wasn't enthused on my own - something made me call Ry and he was SO excited to be in the sea. He's got that stoke that comes from being out in nature that rubbed off on me yesterday, as i stood on the water's edge and breathed and breathed and breathed!!

But just being outside in nature corrects our breathing.

I remember Dad used to yell at us kids when we'd drive back to the city after a weekend on the coast - WIND DOWN YOUR WINDOWS, GIRLS, TAKE GREAT BIG LUNGFULS OF THAT FRESH SALTY AIR!! (we didn't move down til I was 10) - he knew the value of breathing in nature into your very bones that's for sure!

Glad it made you feel better. xx

Yes the beach was calling to us both, there is something so cleansing about the sea air, that has been carried from afar among the waves and then the smell and the sound, it has it all no wonder we feel so re energized, and yes breathing in nature into your very bones, love that, breathing deep always always remaining myself to do just that, so simple but so beneficial, it's amazing how bloody awesome our bodies are when we utilize them properly xxx Thank you @riverflows always a pleasure to connect with you xx

Thank you for sharing. I am glad the beach gave you a breath of fresh air to continue on. Sending your way lots of hope, love and joy!

thank you @khimgoh for your lovely support xx

Sorry to hear you camera broke. Its amazing all the rain this year but I love how fertile the land is, it really needed it... The flowers and fruits everything is so fresh and colourful

it sure is, thank you @celestialcow xx

Thanks for reminding me to take deep breaths. I guess when we are conscious of our breath it deepens. I feel when we breath deep it is ok to feel whatever there is to be felt and it is not even so hard anymore. Eventhough...I hope you feel better soon.

thank you Clara x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55