You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ecoTrain Question of the week - What was one of the most profound spiritual moments of your life?

in #ecotrain7 years ago

Wow fantastically written story. This answered questions I have always had about how children growing up in post WWII in Germany feel. We went through similar teachings in school pretty early, but I imagine less ...well just less intense. Certainly without the same feelings you held.

I have had many german friends but we just never talked about it. I never entered my mind to think of the people of Germany now as ... any different than anyone else. In fact in the US I see Germany as a very peaceful and tolerant country now. I was proud to see so many refugees taken in when the exodus from Syria began. But I honestly did not think of it from a perspective of the holocaust. Ive never been so I really dont know much about current Germany accept what I see in the media or hear from friends.

I just wanted to say great story that answered many questions. I think I may have felt very much the same had I been born there in the same time period. We all hold some collective guilt for the sins of our countries. For me, the genocide on the the American indians, slavery, Japanese internment camps etc. etc. etc.
Human beings can be the most loving and kind creatures but when filled with fear many become capable of horrendous things. I don't think what country it is makes too much difference in that regard. While I never could quite grasp how the holocaust got so far. I don't blame germans living now. I believe this could have happened in the US with the right conditions. Peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51