You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Food: Load Up My Omelette with Dandelions Please!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Anyone on a paleo diet who isn’t eating weeds needs to check themselves. The edible weeds are usually the true super foods. Every vegan and environmentalist that isn’t eating weeds needs to check themselves, there is nothing more sustainable than getting your food from the plants that require more energy to kill than to grow. Dandelion is the quintessential weed, strong, bitter, relentless and so nutritious. Have you done a post on plantain and daisies?

Sort:  

Nice to see you again @theferalone, thanks for your comment! I don't know about asking people to check themselves since most people are doing the best they can, after all our own bodies are at stake in our life choices. I am glad we can learn and grow together with plants as our teachers. There is always more to learn! I love plantain and no I haven't done any posts on it, but there is so much growing here I should! I can't say I am all that familiar with daisies ... thanks for the suggestion I look forward to developing a relationship with them :)

Just slang from the hood. I grew up in the Bronx, so my demeanor and language can come off strong. What I meant was before one makes claims that they are eating the diet of their ancient ancestors or one that will save the earth, they should check their information and challenge themselves to go a step further and really get out of their comfort zone. Weeds are miracle foods of the future.

Daisies are edible, all parts I believe, but I only consume the early leaves in the year. They are really palatable with a nive tang. Great alone or to add to salads. Super hardy and come up early in the year.

Its true, getting out of our comfort zones is so difficult... how can we know what the reward is like if we didn't get out of it in the first place? I am pretty sure I am in many comfort zones at the moment even though I recently got out of some comfort zones. What a dilemma!

Thank you for the info about daisies and inspiring me to learn more :) I visited a park today with some beautiful daisies that were white with a purple tinge on the edges.. I should have taken a photo to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46