You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Get the Fruit you Want from the Trees you Already Have: An Invitation to Grafting with Scions

in #ecotrain7 years ago

I have a lot of wild pin cherry I've been thinking of grafting on to. I also have a Peach tree that sprouted on it's own from a compost pile. We potted it up and then planted in front of our house. It's been growing strong for coming up on three years. I wanted to wait to see how the fruit turns out, if the fruit is crap, I'll be grafting on to it.

I haven't grafted before, so I'll be looking forward to more of your posts on the subject. I'm hoping to start learning and experimenting this year.

Sort:  

Awesome! truly feral ;) peach tree. i love the things that thrive from compost piles. the best squash we had came from the compost pile this year.

i just read tonight that peach is the rootstock most commonly used for grafting almonds onto in california, so the possibilities are plentiful if you don't like the fruit! happy to hear of your interest.

we'll keep posting as we practice this spring. we bought a new tool and we'll be trying it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59