You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part 1: How kids learn

in #ecotrain7 years ago

I did nursing prerequisites, then marketing, then communication, because I fel they would make respectable and lucrative careers. I didn't have a passion for any of them, though, and it wasn't until I got into Black Studies and then started taking history classes that I figured out what I really wanted to do. The academic job market is scary, but I know that I can't just do something because it's expected of me or because it's popular. Without real emotional investment and passion, I'll end up miserable and burned out. So I think it's best to follow your own truth. :)

Sort:  

Oh, I so agree. I think the best thing about unschooling is giving kids time and space to figure out what their passion is and really devote time to it while they still have so much free time and don't have to pay bills.

Haha, yeah! Being an adult is such a time-suck—who knew? ;)

I know! Bring on that UBI!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62704.97
ETH 2442.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66