You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ecotrain QOTW: How do you know when it is time to give up on something?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Interesting read. Your writing style makes me want to go on and read some more, though I pretty much guessed the outcome. (Well, your introduction helped quite a bit.)
Props for finally easing your pit-bull jaws when it became obvious that hanging on any further would be counterproductive. Especially your partner's mother seemed like one big warning flag.
Are we all Not-Giver-Uppers? I like that thought, but I have to admit, I'm probably more of a Letter-Goer. Though you're right in the sense that as hard as it is for me to pick something (or someone), once I commit myself, I want to do it to the fullest.
Thanks for your article.

Sort:  

Thank you! Your words mean a lot. I was actually thinking earlier on today to write a bit more about my time in Asia, as preparation for Steemfest. And yes, my ex's mother was one big warning flag. She was awful, but she was sneaky at the same time and she loved the kids, so there was really not much I could do. He was too chicken-shit to stand up for me to her so yeah, happy to get away from that. For some time I was sad for the kids, but always kept the lines open and always told them they could come and visit any time. They never did, and always had excuses, mostly money issues, but then they would go to Germany for long weekends and even 6 weeks to Chile to visit their eldest son and his family. So I realized these people just liked to play the victim but not actually do something about it. However, I've been in contact with his parents for quite a while after we left. As far as he's concerned, he's as evil as they come. The court case was never about the kids but about getting back at me. His plan failed and that's the last we ever heard from him.

If you're more of a letter-goer, then maybe we should all get a bit more of that to balance it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42