You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paradigm Change & Why Notre Dame Should Never be Rebuilt

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I completely agree! In fact, I a post of this type was trying to emerge through my fingers that didn't quite make it to the keyboard, but your sentiment is shared. The only thing that actually materialized was on another social media site, where people were posting about the fire, to which I responded simply with the song Fire Water Burn by the Bloodhound Gang: "The roof is on fire - we don't need no water, let the mother-ee-ah burn ..."
A bit insensitive? Maybe. But honestly, I think this whole hysteria around the Notre Dame fire is insane. And incredible how many people jump on the whole bandwagon, talking nonsense about cultural heritage, and how unique that cathedral is. Never seen a Gothic church before? For all those who haven't I can only recommend to visit Cyprus. There you can get really cathedraled out! Back when crusaders came from all around Europe to fight in the Holy Land, Cyprus was their last stop before landing in the Levant, and every lord with a bit of funds had a church built, of course in the hottest style of the day. So today on a day's stroll trough Nicosia you can experience a number of Notre Dames. (Oh sure, none of them is the "original" though.)

Sort:  

Funnily enough I am here in Vietnam travelling with a friend from Limasol. 😊 I shall ask her tomorrow over breakfast about the churches.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes, please do! I'd be excited to hear what she says. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46