Morel Mushroom Jackpot 🍄🍄🍄steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain6 years ago

When spring weather starts to warm our skin, mushroom lovers thoughts turn to hunting the elusive morel mushroom. The combination of day and night temperatures and rainfall have to be just right for them to emerge. It is so easy to totally miss the harvest if you don’t look at the right time. Many years we have come back home empty handed.

Not this year!

914027B0-836A-4D33-8C71-E8F10C1810BE.jpeg

My husband and I and my son and his wife and kids went hunting on my neighbor’s land. (with permission) We found a total of approximately 350 morels! That is more than we have ever found before!

C974D8F5-F92A-40C7-87C8-645901B17819.jpeg

Here is a shot of them all. The banana is for size reference. (My son’s idea.) He found the most with the help of my four year old grandson who has very sharp eyes and is closer to the ground.

8069043C-68B1-45C7-82F1-D950B0FBABE1.jpeg

We cooked up some for dinner sautéed in butter with a little garlic and seasoning. Delicious! The rest they will dehydrate to store them.

Morels are one of the easiest mushrooms to identify and are often the first experience many people have with foraging mushrooms. Then they are hooked.

As usual here is my mushroom disclaimer:
THIS POST IS NOT INTENDED FOR FORAGING PURPOSES AND TO USE IT FOR THOSE PURPOSES WOULD BE DANGEROUS. DO NOT HUNT WILD MUSHROOMS WITHOUT RELYING ON A COMBINATION OF PROFESSIONAL FIELD GUIDES, IN PERSON PROFESSIONAL GUIDANCE, OR IN PERSON GUIDANCE BY SOMEONE TRUSTWORTHY WHO HAS COPIOUS LOCAL, SPECIALIZED MUSHROOM HUNTING EXPERIENCE. FAILURE TO DO SO CAN RESULT IN GRIEVOUS PERSONAL HARM OR DEATH.
Thank you to @dber for this thorough mushroom warning.

Thanks for stopping by Stillwaters Farm!

11F057E6-2CA5-4251-8179-5B6B6E0D98F3.jpeg

D4AC7E78-11E5-403E-8D10-0622095B37CC.png

Sort:  

i enjoyed reading your post.jpg

And i haven't see mushrooms like that before ! So thanks for sharing, great reading it was ! :-)

I wonder if they grow where you live.

i don't know .. :-(
i would have to look into it.
:-)

This is awesome! What an amazing harvest :) I just went morel hunting today and came up with nada. At least I have an excuse, I just moved here, but still I'd like to see at least one! I am glad you scored big time!

Where do you live? Here is a helpful video on trees that are symbiotic with mushrooms so you know where to look.

Thanks @stillwatersart :) I am in SW Oregon. We have different common trees here in our forests. I have been learning what trees morels may associate with from some friends that have lived here a while... also have some new places to look and rain is coming tomorrow... hopefully better luck next time!

Oregon would be my dream place to look for mushrooms! Best of luck with that!

yes yes yes yes yes yes OOOOOMG! congrats! that's the best haul i've ever seen :DDDD mushrooms for days. you are blessed!! the forest fairies were certainly talking to the little grandson :) xoxo

It’s the biggest haul we’ve ever had too! And he definitely is a little nature child. I’m teaching him about edible plants and he loves them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48