Mermaid Painting Inspired By Snorkeling Coral ReefssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Snorkeling is one of my favorite things to do! I recently had the opportunity to snorkel near Barkers Cay in Grand Cayman. It was some of the most diverse ocean life I have ever experienced. Most of the coral near the beaches was pretty dead, but still interesting with a nice variety of fish to look at. We decided to take a boat tour out into the bay to access better reefs. What a difference there was between the dead reefs and these vibrant ones! My painting doesn’t get anywhere close to showing its beauty, but nevertheless I was inspired to try

C44D7600-7672-4FCB-8F3E-44ACAA6A0F2C.png

I knew a wanted a person in the picture, but a human just didn’t seem whimsical enough so it occurred to me to paint a mermaid. I did an image search for poses and styles that I liked. I don’t know why I chose to portray it at night, but it just happened. Of course I had to have a full moon for her to gaze at.

3AFC0AFA-C12B-4821-AC8D-C078A9C9E11C.jpeg

This painting is 2’ x 4’ acrylics on hardboard. Here are some shots from my studio as I painted it.

7868B6F0-516C-4EDB-9F59-8558F8DE4991.jpeg

A0297BC5-7824-48DE-B9D0-A8FF494E3D7F.jpeg

I am trying to get a lot of new work done for an upcoming show in my hometown. I bought a bunch of different sized boards and the inspiration has just been flowing. All I want to do is paint lately.

I hope this picture has brightened your day and inspired you to contemplate how fragile these ecosystems are. Let us all do what we can to preserve their diversity.

Thanks for stopping by!

AA81F25E-8D03-41D6-AF1C-81BA29EB672D.jpeg

F2BFC71F-B711-4C4A-ABFF-4AAB433CAD12.png

Sort:  

Nice work!
I enjoy snorkeling as well especially in the Florida keys reefs. This painting looks like it could be from there. Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

Thanks so much! One day I hope to snorkel in the Keys.

Really nice painting. It's beautiful. The color is brilliant. :)

Thank you so much! 🌺

Wow, really stunning, gorgeous work! The mermaid has such feeling oozing out of her. very best of luck with the show!

Really good job, congratulations. greetings

Thank you! 🌴🌺

Oh, dear @stillwatersart, it is such an amazing artwork! I love mermaids a lot and this one is just stunning! I believe it will be a huge success on your show. And I hope you will be sharing with us your new creations! I wish you being keep inspired by Life, Love, coming Spring. May the JOY of Life being your Muze!

Image Source

Thank you so much! I’ve been working on a new one for two days and still don’t know what direction it will go. I need tht muse! 😊🎨

I think you know the best Muze - it is getting your time and FLY in the Universal Flow. Much love dear and look forward to see the new creation!!

Image Source

Thank you dear! You are right of course, time is the key.

I love mermaids.

😊 I remember...the tail on the womb bloom logo.

I really, really love this! I'm absolutely an ocean girl.

Thanks so much! Me too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16